Melee with Elan?

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
Mufferz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 2:40 pm

Melee with Elan?

Post by Mufferz » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:42 pm

In the melee example on page 92, for the French it states that "As they are attacking in column they are also classed as meleeing with élan, so get a further 2 dice."

I cannot find anywhere in the rulebook where it says attacking in column is classed as meleeing with élan except on page 89 where, in the melee modifier definitions the suggestion is that if the charge result is 'melee with élan' you get a +1 if in line or a +2 if in column but this is not the same as saying you get +2 dice just from being in column.

Can anyone clarify this for me please.

Many thanks

Ady

DD1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:30 am

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by DD1 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:01 am

This puzzled me when I saw that example as well. I "think" the Melee with Elan occurred due to the Charge Result. Would be keen to find out for sure though.

Markconz
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:44 am

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by Markconz » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:26 am

Looking at charge results table, I believe that infantry attackers that actually make it to melee will always be fighting with elan, and get an extra dice if also in column, which makes some sense I think.

DCRBrown
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by DCRBrown » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:38 am

A,

See the Melee Modifiers Definition table on p89. If an attack column achieves a melee with elan result it then gains 2 CD for the melee.

DB

Mufferz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by Mufferz » Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:58 pm

Thought so but nice to get confirmation.

cheers

DD1
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:30 am

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by DD1 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:52 pm

The example suggested (to me at least) that just because you had a column you obtained "Melee with Elan".

Mufferz
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by Mufferz » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:35 pm

It did to me to, thats how its worded.
But I had a feeling that was not the intention.

Archdukek
Posts: 4361
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Melee with Elan?

Post by Archdukek » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:17 pm

As Marconz said, it is not because it is a column but because the only time infantry will actually melee with other infantry is when the attacker gets a melee with élan result on the charge procedure table. None of the other outcomes on that table involve contacting the enemy.

John

Post Reply