Ball and Skirmishers

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
User avatar
vlad48
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Ball and Skirmishers

Post by vlad48 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:30 pm

The rules say you can target close order units behind their own skirmishers with volley and canister fire (the first hit coming off the skirms) - but what happens when you fire ball/long range artillery at regular units behind skirms?
- Walt

Fairfax
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 7:36 am

Re: Ball and Skirmishers

Post by Fairfax » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:13 pm

Walt

I think the answer is at Page 71 Skirmish Screen Effectiveness where it states thst artillery shot will always pass through a screen without effect and strike any close order units behind.

Hope this helps.

Keith

Archdukek
Posts: 4123
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Ball and Skirmishers

Post by Archdukek » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:48 pm

Walt,
I agree with Keith. As I read it the artillery firing ball simply ignores the skirmishers and targets the close order unit.

John

User avatar
vlad48
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:21 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Ball and Skirmishers

Post by vlad48 » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:38 pm

Thanks - that makes sense.
- W

Post Reply