Charge or Opportunity Charge

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
in.cover
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 11:46 am

Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by in.cover » Thu Jul 06, 2017 4:32 pm

Side A has a cavalry unit (A1) facing side B which has two cavalry units (B1) and (B2) which are outside of support range of each other.

Side A has the initiative and declares a charge with its unit A1 on enemy unit B1.

The Cavalry unit B2 is not the target of a charge and is not a support so it is free to act as it wants.

Option 1
Cavalry unit B2 could opportunity charge A1. The procedure for which is very clear.
B2 takes a Discipline Test. If it fails it takes no further part in the action and A1 continues its charge against B1.
If it passes A1's charge on B1 in cancelled. A1 moves 5cms forward and B2 now proceeds with its charge on A1. Assuming this results in a melee the two units are moved into contact awaiting the melee phase.

If B1 is no longer the object of a charge can it make a charge it had previously declared?

Assuming it can see A1 and had declared a charge on A1 can it now charge A1?
Do you do a standard charge test even though A1 is already in melee?

Option 2
Cavalry unit B2 declares a charge on A1.

B2 can declare the charge without the need for a Discipline Test as it is declaring a charge and not an Opportunity Charge.

As all of sides A charges are conducted first. A1 will conduct its charge on B1. This could result in a melee with A1 moving into contract with B1 ready for the melee phase.

Not we come to side B's charges. Assuming B2 can still see A1 is there any reason it can not charge into the side of A1?

If B2 can charge do you do a standard charge test for B2 charging A1?

It could be that A1 will be at a disadvantage in this test. Do the results of the new test override the previous test for A1 charging B1?

The situation for two units charging one is covered in the rules but it is not so clear when the charges are not simultaneous.

DCRBrown
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by DCRBrown » Sat Jul 08, 2017 9:02 am

i c,

Hopefully I've read this right. ;)

Option 1
Cavalry unit B2 could opportunity charge A1. The procedure for which is very clear.
B2 takes a Discipline Test. If it fails it takes no further part in the action and A1 continues its charge against B1.
If it passes A1's charge on B1 in cancelled. A1 moves 5cms forward and B2 now proceeds with its charge on A1. Assuming this results in a melee the two units are moved into contact awaiting the melee phase.
If B1 is no longer the object of a charge can it make a charge it had previously declared?


No, because B1 hasn't declared a charge. Remember if you've had a charge declare against you then that unit cannot subsequently declare its own charge, even if its original attackers have been countered by other friendlies. So if this opportunity charge went ahead then B1 would simply stand, uninvolved in the charge while opportunity charge goes in. (Basically its easy for a player to say, "Oh I'll charge now" but on the ground its far more difficult to react, so that opportunity has been lost.)

Option 2
Cavalry unit B2 declares a charge on A1.

As all of sides A charges are conducted first. A1 will conduct its charge on B1. This could result in a melee with A1 moving into contract with B1 ready for the melee phase.

Not we come to side B's charges. Assuming B2 can still see A1 is there any reason it can not charge into the side of A1?


If you've already declared the charge and if the unit can wheel appropriately to charge A1 without contacting or interpenetrating the friendly unit B1, then yes.

If B2 can charge do you do a standard charge test for B2 charging A1? Do the results of the new test override the previous test for A1 charging B1?

Yes, on A1 but not for B1. So you still might see A1 retreat, rout. (Though technically in base to base contact we assume that a full melee hasn't developed at this stage.)

DB

in.cover
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 11:46 am

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by in.cover » Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:30 pm

DB

Thanks for the clarification. It all makes sense.

In option 1 it is all a matter of timing. All charges by both sides are declared before side A makes any charge moves and Side B makes any opportunity charges. Thus although A1s charge in cancelled when it is opportunity charged. It is too late for B1 to react as it was not allowed to declare a charge in the charge declaration phase (as it was the target of a charge) and by the time A1s charge is cancelled we are past the charge declaration phase. Basically B1 was preparing itself to receive a charge and did not have time to react when that charge was intercepted by a friendly unit.

In option 2 be careful of leaving unopposed enemy units.

ic

Maturin
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by Maturin » Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:11 am


Option 2
Cavalry unit B2 declares a charge on A1.
As all of sides A charges are conducted first. A1 will conduct its charge on B1. This could result in a melee with A1 moving into contract with B1 ready for the melee phase.
Now we come to side B's charges. Assuming B2 can still see A1 is there any reason it can not charge into the side of A1?

DB replied
If you've already declared the charge and if the unit can wheel appropriately to charge A1 without contacting or interpenetrating the friendly unit B1, then yes.
Interesting....
So now the charge of B2 is against an on-going Melee?
Is this dealt with as a re-inforcing a Melee such as on Page 90? or as a separate charge against an already charging target?
Does the charge just go in? (no incoming fire?)
Cheers
T

DCRBrown
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by DCRBrown » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:38 pm

Tim,

So now the charge of B2 is against an on-going Melee? Is this dealt with as a reinforcing a Melee such as on Page 90? Or as a separate charge against an already charging target?

Regard this as a charge that is going in just a short time after the initial charge; (bearing in mind this charge must have been declared at the start of the charge phase, so the player cannot suddenly decide to do halfway through the charge phase) and we have to assume that a full melee situation has not quite developed. We use the normal charge procedure, yes with any in-coming fire possibility, however unlikely in this situation.

DB

Maturin
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Charge or Opportunity Charge

Post by Maturin » Fri Jul 14, 2017 8:33 am

Thanks Dave
An unlikely situation indeed. As my dice throwing ability attests however the likely never happens when you want it to.
Tim

Post Reply