Page 1 of 1

2 flank questions

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:49 pm
by vlad48
Our latest game resulted in two questions for the forum to do with flank charges.
In our case Prussian cavalry charged French cavalry in the flank resulting in a two-step melee.
1. In the charge resolution, would the charging unit get BOTH the flank charge bonus and the bonus for having a wider front(than the French's units flank)?
2. If a tie presents the option of a second round of melee, does the charging side still get the Flank Bonus in the second melee round?
Thanks in advance, as always.
- Walt

Re: 2 flank questions

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:43 pm
by Archdukek
Hi Walt,
Don't have the rules with me to check, but off the top of my head I would say:
1) Yes, it's a wider formation at the point of contact if the defender can't wheel in time;
2) No, if the defender has survived the first round it can only be because he has turned enough men around to face off the attackers so is no longer flanked in my view. Also don't all the defenders bases count as fighting in the second round or am I confusing rule sets again?

John

Re: 2 flank questions

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 5:47 pm
by vlad48
Hi John,
Interesting interpretation on the wider formation issue - as I myself would have ONLY given the bonus for being flanked, since flanked units are almost always narrower where they are contacted. I don't know if anyone else will offer a thought here.
About the only time I haven't totally agreed, Archdukek. Wonder if anyone else can offer a legal opinion.
- Walt

Re: 2 flank questions

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 9:31 pm
by Archdukek
Hi Walt,
Might be worth remembering that there is no bonus for being in a wider formation, it is actually a malus of -1 or -1 CD on the defender in the charge procedure and melee and in the former only applies to cavalry. Can't see why the defender taken on the flank should gain an advantage in that case when he probably faces a greater chance of enemy troopers falling on its rear.

John

Re: 2 flank questions

Posted: Wed May 15, 2019 1:52 am
by vlad48
Hi Polish Lancer,
Yes, during the game there was a tongue-in-cheek debate about "frontage" vs "flankage".