Page 1 of 1

>>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 7:36 pm
by EQUITES
Hello,
about this case :
can two massed columns charge a BUA (Assault order implemented) without consider Support ?
Rule book References :
#5 pag.41
#C pag.43
#BUA pg.91

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:21 pm
by Archdukek
Hi Michele,
I'd say no. Paragraph 5 on page 41 expressly excludes Massed Columns declaring separate charges on an enemy unit, in this case the BUA Garrison. That is very clear.
Nor can the other column provide support as you point out. So you'd be better off sending it to attack a different face of the BUA as allowed on page 91.

John

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:24 am
by EQUITES
Hi John,
so if the two columns had been 6 cm apart, they would not have been ''massed'' and therefore they could have charged the BUA.
Thank you.

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:02 am
by Dorsenne
Hi Mike,
pag. 41 point 5:
Massed Column Formation. The attacker cannot declare multiple SEPARATE charges from a massed column formation against a single
enemy unit. If you charge a Bua with your 2 battalions in massed colum is correct.
If you had a 3 battalions in massed columns you could attack only with 2, because is possible a Bua section can only be attacked by a maximum of two battalions in the first round of Melee. If in the first round the result is a Draw, the attacker can use also the third battalion like reinforce in the following turn.

Ciao
Paolo

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:52 am
by DCRBrown
Dorsenne is correct! 8-)

Remember the maximum number of attacking battalions against a BUA is two, so if you have three columns massed, then only two may initially attack.

Oh and John is also right in that there are no supports when charging a BUA, as we ignore the main charge procedure.

DB

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:24 pm
by bigduke1327
Michele,

Plus chargers have to try to aim at the centre of the defending unit they are charging? So even if two columns were 6cms apart at the start of the charge, if they both charge the same face of a BUA they will (given the size of a BUA) be less than 5cm apart by the time they hit, so they would be massed then, therefore cannot do it.

They could only charge different faces of the BUA so then they wouldn't be within 5cm of each other at the point of contact.

Martin

Re: >>Massed Columns charging BUA

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:05 am
by EQUITES
Hi Martin,
in my opinion you should consider the formation ''massed columns'' in the Charge declaration phase, not at the end because it's irrelevant during charging a BUA : in fact the ''Garrison fire'' doesn't get any positive modifier and there isn't support re-roll for the Attackers.
Moreover I don't believe that the rule ''chargers have to try to aim at the centre of the defending unit'' is applicable to ''BUA garrison''.