Unsupported Artillery in Charge Combat

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Post Reply
fordtb
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:15 pm

Unsupported Artillery in Charge Combat

Post by fordtb » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:18 pm

My gaming buddy and I just finished playing the Battle of Port Republic (1862) using Picketts Charge and ran into a situation towards the end of the game that we had a question about.

An unsupported artillery battery was charged by two regiments (one lead, and one support). After surviving the artillery fire, the regiments closed on the unsupported battery. The only charge resolution modifier for either was for FCs on the lead attacking regiment.

We couldn't find any modifiers or rules that would penalize the unsupported artillery against close order troops. This seemed kind of odd to us as it seemed that the artillery should be at some disadvantage in this situation.

Are we missing something here? Or would you roll 2D6 for both with only a -1 to the attacking regiment?

I've attached a picture.

Also .. two other quick questions.
(1) Do units that are whipped or routed due to the See the Elephant test suffer additional FCs as they do as a result of losing a charge combat?
(2) Do units that voluntarily retreat suffer a FC as they do after losing a charge combat?

Thanks. Tom

DCRBrown
Posts: 307
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Unsupported Artillery in Charge Combat

Post by DCRBrown » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:27 pm

T,

You're quite right - there is no negative for an unsupported battery - other than the fact it doesn't get a charge combat D6 reroll, which can be very significant. So in effect all unsupported units are at a disadvantage, while your attackers have their 2D6 roll and a reroll for the support, hopefully negating any minus suffered in the charge, (though charging batteries in the ACW was not a particularly successful tactic. ;) )

Lone batteries are also vulnerable to charges by skirmishers - this is the one opportunity skirmishers have of charging close order units, (p36)

(1) Do units that are whipped or routed due to the See the Elephant test suffer additional FCs as they do as a result of losing a charge combat?
Yes.

(2) Do units that voluntarily retreat suffer a FC as they do after losing a charge combat?
A voluntary retire does not incur any casualties but does cause the unit to go unformed.

Hope that helps.

DB

Post Reply