Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
Foulksy
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:03 am

Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by Foulksy » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:14 am

Just finished my second game and once I ‘unlearned’ some preconceptions the game went surprisingly smoothly (kudos) and only have a couple of questions.

On the skirmish fire table “Target in Cover or Skirmishers” - if shooting at other skirmishers in cover does the penalty get applie twice or just once?

In the example scenario there are small regiments noted as ‘sharpshooters’ are these just regular skirmish-order troops or something else?

Is there any mention or rules allowing units to move obliquely?

Thanks in advance.

DCRBrown
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by DCRBrown » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:45 pm

F,

On the skirmish fire table “Target in Cover or Skirmishers” - if shooting at other skirmishers in cover does the penalty get applied twice or just once?

A = Just the once - even if skirmishers are in cover.

In the example scenario there are small regiments noted as ‘sharpshooters’ are these just regular skirmish-order troops or something else?

A = Any unit that has been permanently deployed into skirmishers for the battle, so can include those very good sharpshooter regiments such as Berdan's but also include other regiments deployed in this manner. On the whole your small regiments deployed as sharpshooters are just that - regulars in skirmish order for the entire game.

Is there any mention or rules allowing units to move obliquely?

A = Use the following: All units may move obliquely up to a 45 degree angle from the front outside base edge. Oblique movement is conducted at normal speeds.

Hope that helps.

DB

Foulksy
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by Foulksy » Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:38 pm

Many thanks... game three just getting underway (I love being retired 😆)

Post Reply