Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe, DCRBrown

Post Reply
Foulksy
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:03 am

Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by Foulksy »

Just finished my second game and once I ‘unlearned’ some preconceptions the game went surprisingly smoothly (kudos) and only have a couple of questions.

On the skirmish fire table “Target in Cover or Skirmishers” - if shooting at other skirmishers in cover does the penalty get applie twice or just once?

In the example scenario there are small regiments noted as ‘sharpshooters’ are these just regular skirmish-order troops or something else?

Is there any mention or rules allowing units to move obliquely?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by DCRBrown »

F,

On the skirmish fire table “Target in Cover or Skirmishers” - if shooting at other skirmishers in cover does the penalty get applied twice or just once?

A = Just the once - even if skirmishers are in cover.

In the example scenario there are small regiments noted as ‘sharpshooters’ are these just regular skirmish-order troops or something else?

A = Any unit that has been permanently deployed into skirmishers for the battle, so can include those very good sharpshooter regiments such as Berdan's but also include other regiments deployed in this manner. On the whole your small regiments deployed as sharpshooters are just that - regulars in skirmish order for the entire game.

Is there any mention or rules allowing units to move obliquely?

A = Use the following: All units may move obliquely up to a 45 degree angle from the front outside base edge. Oblique movement is conducted at normal speeds.

Hope that helps.

DB

Foulksy
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:03 am

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by Foulksy »

Many thanks... game three just getting underway (I love being retired 😆)

MarcusColenious
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by MarcusColenious »

This is a great find in the Forum. Thank you Dan for clarifying this. But I would like to take this one step further. If I can Oblique Move 45 degrees from my units front (like firing), can I also move in a straight line at the oblique at the 45 degree angle when charging? Its movement in a straight line... In otherwords, can a charge move be done using this oblique movement?

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Skirmishers in cover. Oblique movement.

Post by DCRBrown »

M,

I see where you are coming from, but charging at the oblique is not what's intended.

The regiment may wheel before hand, in order to line up or gain the line of attack it requires, and then it's in a straight line ahead.

Hope that helps.

DB

Post Reply