A unit is forced to retire but it is on a table edge, does it just leave the table or does it move along the table edge away from the enemy, I do note that one of the definitions of dispersed is leaving the table. I have always found end of the world [edge of table] rules a little tricky. In the case sited the unit if it had to go straight back according to it's facing, it would have left the table but it could of moved laterally away from the enemy towards it's linee.
There is no true voluntary withdrawal mechanism in the ruleset for a force (ie. to leave the battle as defeat is imminent). We are playing a campaign so keeping units as intact as possible for the next game is important. Looking through the rules, we have this:
I think using this to withdraw an army is reasonable until they go off the table. Agree?Retiring: All units may opt to voluntarily retire. This is a swift move to
the rear ending up facing the enemy and as such the unit is unformed after the manoeuvre. Artillery may only conduct a voluntary retire when limbered
Thanks,
John