Back again with a few Close Assault & Spotting questions!
Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 9:30 am
We played again yesterday (our second game) and a few questions about Close Assault & spotting came up.
In the rules it says that if you are within 4" you are in close assault.
Q1: Does it cost a separate action to initiate close assault after an action to move into the 4" range, or is it part of the move to get within 4" of the opponent's unit and an automatic event of that move's action? One of the Big Men's actions is to initiate a charge into close assault, so this would seem to indicate the latter. Can any one clarify this?
Q2: We also had a situation where a unit A was activated that was in a building, but within 4" of an enemy unit B outside which outnumbered them. For Unit A to Close Assault in this situation would have been suicide, given how deadly it is, so we allowed them to shoot instead. This would probably cause less casualties on the opponent, but would have been the safer action given the numbers of the opponent in Unit B. Is this correct, or is Close Assault an automatic event given the distance?
Q3 Spotting, when does automatic spotting occur? We had Blind A advancing down a road on their card, this was in full view of enemy Blind B in cover and who had yet to take their turn. Blind A was in range for automatic spotting, yet Blind B was just out of range for automatic spotting. When is Blind A deployed? In it's current turn as soon as it is in automatic spotting range, or in Blind B's turn if their card was pulled?
Slightly convoluted questions, and I know there is more emphasis on enjoying the game than strictly following the rules, but I just wondered how the above examples worked in other people's games.
In the rules it says that if you are within 4" you are in close assault.
Q1: Does it cost a separate action to initiate close assault after an action to move into the 4" range, or is it part of the move to get within 4" of the opponent's unit and an automatic event of that move's action? One of the Big Men's actions is to initiate a charge into close assault, so this would seem to indicate the latter. Can any one clarify this?
Q2: We also had a situation where a unit A was activated that was in a building, but within 4" of an enemy unit B outside which outnumbered them. For Unit A to Close Assault in this situation would have been suicide, given how deadly it is, so we allowed them to shoot instead. This would probably cause less casualties on the opponent, but would have been the safer action given the numbers of the opponent in Unit B. Is this correct, or is Close Assault an automatic event given the distance?
Q3 Spotting, when does automatic spotting occur? We had Blind A advancing down a road on their card, this was in full view of enemy Blind B in cover and who had yet to take their turn. Blind A was in range for automatic spotting, yet Blind B was just out of range for automatic spotting. When is Blind A deployed? In it's current turn as soon as it is in automatic spotting range, or in Blind B's turn if their card was pulled?
Slightly convoluted questions, and I know there is more emphasis on enjoying the game than strictly following the rules, but I just wondered how the above examples worked in other people's games.