Page 1 of 2

Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:11 am
by Tom Ballou
I’ve never tried this. How does it work, do you get all the affects of a tea break, but the end of the turn?

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:17 am
by Truscott Trotter
IIRC you do not take a tea break until the second card turns up

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:31 am
by Archdukek
It works exactly as TT says. The first Tea Break card is ignored. All the normal Tea Break rules apply when the second card is drawn ending the Turn.

Using a second Tea Break card means that the probability of any other Big Man, Platoon or Support card appearing in a Turn increases from 50% to 66% so you will have more activations and less friction.

John

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:27 pm
by Tom Ballou
Thanks guys, I was reading too much into it.

Not sure it buys you anything.

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:34 am
by Archdukek
Tom Ballou wrote:
Fri Mar 08, 2019 5:27 pm
Thanks guys, I was reading too much into it.

Not sure it buys you anything.
Tom,
I've found it helpful to tempt people to play who find the friction of a single Tea Break card too much to swallow. On average you can activate more units each turn giving the player a greater sense of control.

John

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:51 am
by Tom Ballou
Yeah but it’s an illusion, the first card does nothing.

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:20 am
by Truscott Trotter
Erm the first card warns you the kettle is boiling

....... you now know the second card could be coming along whereas in the 'normal' game you would now be sitting down to a cuppa and a wad

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:31 pm
by Tom Ballou
Fair enough, I can it see from a psychological point of view. But the players should always be expecting a tea break.

From a demonstration game POV, better for one or two?

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:07 pm
by Archdukek
Tom,
Having 2 Tea Break cards does do something, it isn't an illusion. It increases the probability of any Big Man or Unit card being drawn from 50% to 66% so on average more units will be activated in a Turn if you use 2 Tea Break cards. Basically all the cards drawn between the first Tea Break card's appearance and the second card emerging can be played this Turn.

As for demonstration games, it comes down to how comfortable your players are likely to be with the friction caused by not being in full control of their units. One Tea Break card is easier to explain than two, but using a second card can be less painful for newbies. As TT says they get some warning that the turn may end soon.

John

Re: Two Tea Break cards

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:30 pm
by Tom Ballou
I’m going to be using Command Flags, so it might make players decisions easier.