Page 1 of 5

Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:41 pm
by JOHN BOND 001
my German Grenadiers were about to finish off a Section of Infantry and a HMG team when my opponent interrupted my fire with a Chain of command dice to activate the senior Leader who thru 2 smoke grenades in front of his men , which in turn increased To Hit by 1 on my dice rolls. This turned out to be his saving grace.
My question how many smoke grenades would the Senior Leader be able to throw when activated by a INTERRUPT with a Chain of Command dice?

My thought he could only throw one. in this case the leader only had 2 command initiatives and thru 2 smoke grenades.

thanks JOhn

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:46 pm
by Big Bob
I might be wrong but I don't think you can activate the Senior Leader with a CoC dice to interrupt. Isn't it a team or a section? The Senior Leader is neither.

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:54 pm
by Munin
By the rules as written, you got jobbed: "When interrupting an opponent’s Phase, the player may immediately move or fire with one Section, Squad, Team or vehicle which is already deployed on the table and not Pinned." You will note that "Leader" does not appear in the list of things you can activate. You'll also note that it only lists options to move or fire, not rally shock, throw grenades, or use national characteristics. Now this gets a little weird in the case of vehicles because vehicles normally only activate through their Junior Leader, but we've always taken it be exactly as written - the vehicle can either move or fire. This is a direct activation of the position in question (i.e. driver or gunner) rather than the standard activation of the JL commander using his 2 CIs as he sees fit.

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:20 pm
by Archdukek
As Munin says you can't play Interrupt on a Leader, either Senior or Junior, so he couldn't throw any smoke grenades, nor could he order any men within command range to do so.

All your opponent could have done would be to order either the section or HMG to fire first or move one of them.
John

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:47 pm
by Truscott Trotter
If you are going to get pedantic then according to p 6
Teams are the smallest Unit type represented in
Chain of Command. These may be formal
weapons Teams, such as the Support Weapons
attached to the platoon, or more informal ad hoc
Teams created by the player for a specific task.A single man on sentry may be considered a one
man Team,


So you are going to allow a 1 or 2 man team created to interrupt but not a Senior leader?
Surely he is a one man team?

OTOH according to the rules the unit throws the grenade not the leader
eg p 19
Get a Unit which is not Tactical or on
Overwatch to throw a single handgrenade,
fire a single rifle grenade or use
a single Section or Squad anti‐tank


So if you interrupt with the SL he cannot throw grenades.
The way round it would have been to have him attached to unit that could throw the grenades. I would not have a problem with that as an interrupt.

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:42 am
by Archdukek
An ad hoc Team would have to have been created by a Leader in the usual way and separated from its parent unit before it could be activated by an Interrupt Dice.
A Leader can never be a one man Team or folk will be claiming he can be activated on a '1' next.

The Interrupt rule is very specific in my view and doesn't include Leaders.

John

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:51 am
by Munin
Leaders also don't carry Shock, unlike Teams.

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:07 am
by jdg
I have to agree with Archdukek and Munin a leader can't ever be a team. I would have thought to be odvious.

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:33 am
by Truscott Trotter
So in that case a leader cannot be hit by a mortar barrage as he is not a team?
p.46
The player then rolls the number of dice shown
in the National Arsenal Table for the weapon
firing for every Team within the barrage area to
see if they have been hit.

:lol:

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:02 am
by Munin
If he wasn't savvy enough to keep his head down during a mortar barrage, they wouldn't have made him a leader. ;)