Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Play the period not the rules 😙😉😂🤣😃😎😍😅

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by JOHN BOND 001 »

Applying some common... and reading the manual...

1.Can a Chain of command dice be used to activate a Leader to conduct a INTERRUPT?
No. It's a team or section Para 5.1.1
2. Does a Leader qualify as a 1 man Team?
No, a leader is not a team... Page 8 / 10
3. Are Leaders able to throw grenades?
Para 9.2: A man OR A LEADER... so yes (RTFM)
4. Are only non-leader troops allowed to throw grenades on the command activation by a Leader?
Para 9.2 See above
5. Are you limited to firing and moving when conducting a INTERRUPT? can a grenade or other action be performed?
Para 5.1.1 Firing or moving.
6. If you can throw grenades , how many can you throw during a INTERRUPT?
Para 9.2 You cannot throw grenades as they need a leader CI
7.If it allowed to activate a leader to perform a INTERRUPT, can he then activate a team he is attached to, to throw a grenade? (my thoughts are no on this one as you are activate a chain of command dice to activating a leader who activates something else, third party stuff)
No you cannot activate a leader Para 5.1.1

Hope that helps... ;) It's all quite clear in the book...

So Leaders cannot be activated using a Chain of Command dice to INTERRUPT! knowing this would have change the game in a big way in favour of the Germans but we still had a great time and each time we play new questions come up to" nut out" on the forum. :)
As for leaders in barrages Para 10.3.1 if a leader was unattached then he could not be hit by a barrage but would still be pinned.
When a Barrage is activated to Kill,
you only roll for effect at Effective range and -1 level of cover for each team within the Barrage

What about the Leader regardless if they were attached or not under a Barrage ?I did not see anything in the 10.3.1 stating that they are only Pinned if attached.
The example on page 47, where German mortars are firing on a Section of US troops, only states that d each team rolls for Effect of Barrage.
Is this a typo? leaving out the effect on Leaders?
:?:
help needed

thanks John

Closecraig
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:31 pm

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Closecraig »

JOHN BOND 001 wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:00 pm

When a Barrage is activated to Kill,
you only roll for effect at Effective range and -1 level of cover for each team within the Barrage

What about the Leader regardless if they were attached or not under a Barrage ?I did not see anything in the 10.3.1 stating that they are only Pinned if attached.
The example on page 47, where German mortars are firing on a Section of US troops, only states that d each team rolls for Effect of Barrage.
Is this a typo? leaving out the effect on Leaders?
:?:
help needed

thanks John
Forgive me if this is incorrect, but it sounds like the following would happen:
  • Any leaders not attached to teams / sections would be pinned
  • Any sections / teams are pinned - As are the leaders attached to those
  • Any casualties caused by the barrage have the potential to inflict injuries onto the leaders as per the normal rules
It's not that the rule is left out or a typo - But rather that the previous rule for damage to sections / teams is not contracted.

Archdukek
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Archdukek »

Craig is correct. It isn't that complicated. An SL under a barrage is "pinned" like anyone else and can't move. If he is attached to a section or team which takes hits and subsequent kills, he risks being wounded as per the usual ruled for Leader casualties. If he isn't attached he doesn't, but then he is totally useless since he can't even control the Shock on the men around him.

John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Are you saying an unattached leader under a barrage cannot be hit?
Just trying to be clear here I don't have a dog in rhis fight as we are happy with our house rules for barrages.

Rich H
Posts: 1148
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Preston UK

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Rich H »

Correct, the rules are clear, teams and sections only.
Seems a little odd but it stops them mopping up unattached leaders easily (a single leader would take a load of hits if treated like a team!) and the subsequent loss of FM would easily finish the game. (for the record we don't like the barrage rules so don't use them)

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter »

If you want I can pm you our houserules Rich?😁

Rich H
Posts: 1148
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:18 am
Location: Preston UK

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Rich H »

Always interested in alternatives! :D

We don't like them as they can bog things down massively and can turn a battle. We prefer to slog things out ;)

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by JOHN BOND 001 »

Image
Last edited by JOHN BOND 001 on Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter »

This is getting surreal now was Rich talking about a units JL or an unattached SL or something else?

Post Reply