Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by JOHN BOND 001 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:41 pm

my German Grenadiers were about to finish off a Section of Infantry and a HMG team when my opponent interrupted my fire with a Chain of command dice to activate the senior Leader who thru 2 smoke grenades in front of his men , which in turn increased To Hit by 1 on my dice rolls. This turned out to be his saving grace.
My question how many smoke grenades would the Senior Leader be able to throw when activated by a INTERRUPT with a Chain of Command dice?

My thought he could only throw one. in this case the leader only had 2 command initiatives and thru 2 smoke grenades.

thanks JOhn

Big Bob
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:13 pm

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Big Bob » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:46 pm

I might be wrong but I don't think you can activate the Senior Leader with a CoC dice to interrupt. Isn't it a team or a section? The Senior Leader is neither.

Munin
Posts: 1013
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Munin » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:54 pm

By the rules as written, you got jobbed: "When interrupting an opponent’s Phase, the player may immediately move or fire with one Section, Squad, Team or vehicle which is already deployed on the table and not Pinned." You will note that "Leader" does not appear in the list of things you can activate. You'll also note that it only lists options to move or fire, not rally shock, throw grenades, or use national characteristics. Now this gets a little weird in the case of vehicles because vehicles normally only activate through their Junior Leader, but we've always taken it be exactly as written - the vehicle can either move or fire. This is a direct activation of the position in question (i.e. driver or gunner) rather than the standard activation of the JL commander using his 2 CIs as he sees fit.

Archdukek
Posts: 4636
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Archdukek » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:20 pm

As Munin says you can't play Interrupt on a Leader, either Senior or Junior, so he couldn't throw any smoke grenades, nor could he order any men within command range to do so.

All your opponent could have done would be to order either the section or HMG to fire first or move one of them.
John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6689
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:47 pm

If you are going to get pedantic then according to p 6
Teams are the smallest Unit type represented in
Chain of Command. These may be formal
weapons Teams, such as the Support Weapons
attached to the platoon, or more informal ad hoc
Teams created by the player for a specific task.A single man on sentry may be considered a one
man Team,


So you are going to allow a 1 or 2 man team created to interrupt but not a Senior leader?
Surely he is a one man team?

OTOH according to the rules the unit throws the grenade not the leader
eg p 19
Get a Unit which is not Tactical or on
Overwatch to throw a single handgrenade,
fire a single rifle grenade or use
a single Section or Squad anti‐tank


So if you interrupt with the SL he cannot throw grenades.
The way round it would have been to have him attached to unit that could throw the grenades. I would not have a problem with that as an interrupt.

Archdukek
Posts: 4636
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Archdukek » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:42 am

An ad hoc Team would have to have been created by a Leader in the usual way and separated from its parent unit before it could be activated by an Interrupt Dice.
A Leader can never be a one man Team or folk will be claiming he can be activated on a '1' next.

The Interrupt rule is very specific in my view and doesn't include Leaders.

John

Munin
Posts: 1013
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Munin » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:51 am

Leaders also don't carry Shock, unlike Teams.

jdg
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:08 am
Location: Near Phoenix, Arizona

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by jdg » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:07 am

I have to agree with Archdukek and Munin a leader can't ever be a team. I would have thought to be odvious.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6689
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Truscott Trotter » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:33 am

So in that case a leader cannot be hit by a mortar barrage as he is not a team?
p.46
The player then rolls the number of dice shown
in the National Arsenal Table for the weapon
firing for every Team within the barrage area to
see if they have been hit.

:lol:

Munin
Posts: 1013
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: Interrupt with a Senior Leader

Post by Munin » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:02 am

If he wasn't savvy enough to keep his head down during a mortar barrage, they wouldn't have made him a leader. ;)

Post Reply