Page 2 of 4

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 5:13 pm
by Tom Ballou
In the Achtung! Scenario; “The terrain is largely wooded with some undergrowth. Troops moving in this are considered in the open, whereas troops stationary are in light cover”.

Looking a the American jump off points, since the forest provides stationary cover, but by description the woods are cleared. So it seems the American JoPs could set no closer that 18”to the clearing, or would they go all the way back to the baseline?

I’m not sure what would be considered in or behind cover.

Per Rich

In the open is considered in the open. In any cover, including the light cover when stationary cover, is perfectly fine for a JoP. Remember, when you deploy you are NOT considered moving.

Cheers

Rich

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:42 pm
by Tom Ballou
Since the Germans get only one buy of support, do you treat support casualties in the same manner as base units post game Sharp End rules?

Also the German platoon leader is listed as a JL not a SL so activates on a 3 not a 4 but can command any units. Correct?

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:59 pm
by Archdukek
Tom,
Since you get to keep the same support choices through subsequent games the note on handling casualties as in ATSE would seem to apply to them as to the core platoon.

An Obergefreiter, the rank of the German commander, is normally a JL in the rules and since the defenders are really a detachment rather than a full platoon it makes sense to keep him as such. So yes I'd say he activates on a 3 but can command any unit.

John

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:37 am
by Tom Ballou
Thanks for your comments John you were spot on!

I got this from Rich:
"They become part of the core force and are treated as such for casualty recovery.

I'd also add the option of an infantry section on their support list for five points (In RED)."

"Yes for minefields or defences." (that any removed wire or minefields are gone for good).

The Platoon leader is supposed to be an SL not a JL that is typo.

Minefields are unlimited in this scenario, not the normal restriction of two.

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:26 pm
by Tom Ballou
The work is underway! My 15mm bunkers, before coating in spackle.

The pair of bunkers
Image

Regelbau 10 back doors
Image

The business end
Image

Regelbau 1 business end
Image

BTW, I think I will limit the Germans to 8 (4 feet) of mines. They could in theory take 10 feet of mines and do a double belt across the table. That would be really no fun to deal with. Waiting to roll a 6 under two MGs fire.

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:31 pm
by Truscott Trotter
Do the Allies get a flail tank? :P

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:58 pm
by Tom Ballou
Now the process of building all the entrenchments begins

Craft sticks, pink foam, and endless Starbucks coffee stirrers...

Cutting shaping the foam, and adding the sticks
Image

A figure in the entrenchments for scale
Image

All the entrenchments laid out with the bunkers
Image

Surfaced and ready for sand texture and painting
Image

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:06 pm
by Closecraig
Wowzers!

Great job on those bunkers. That is going to be one good looking table.

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:37 pm
by Seret
It sure is. Great work!

Re: Achtung! (Summer special 2017) Mini-campaign questions

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:43 pm
by Tom Ballou
Question; Do you think Maschinegewehr applies to the MG08 in the bunkers?