Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1737
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by john de terre neuve » Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:27 pm

Hi,

I should know this but I just wanted to check. For game purposes like the Soviets; the Japanese, US Armoured Rifle and the USMC squads have single team squads and are not broken into 2 teams.

Is this correct?

John

Morgan
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Morgan » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:05 pm

And on exactly what dice result do they activate?

- For the Soviet "Rifle Platoon", we have "Squads One to Three", composed of a "Rifle Squad".

- For the American "Armored Rifle Platoon", we have "Squads One and Two", composed of a "Rifle Team".

I would have each of these activate only on a 2, regardless of the difference in wording (or on a 3 from the Junior Leader, obviously).

And, conversely, I would have the "Mortar Squad" from the same American platoon, activate only on a 1, again regardless of the name.
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1737
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by john de terre neuve » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:52 pm

I do not believe that was my question, it is more do you treat US armored, Japanese and USMC squads as below.

From the FAQ:
Sections & Squads without Sub‐Teams
Whilst the norm for unit organisation in the Second World War was to break sections and squads down into smaller Teams to facilitate fire and movement, some nations simply did not have such sophisticated tactical doctrines. Good examples here are the Poles and the Soviets, both of whom considered the squad to be the smallest tactical unit. Where these sections or squads are fielded the following rules should apply:
 They suffer only one Shock when moving 'at the double'
 They require only one Team entrenchment for the entire Squad or Section
 They roll twice for hits from barrages
 They activate only on a Command Dice roll of 2. Any sub‐Teams, such as Scouts, which are split
off from the Squad will activate on a Command Dice roll of 1.
 The whole squad may be placed on Overwatch by their Leaders using one Command Initiative
I find it puzzling that CD's of 3 are not used (but maybe I am mis-interpreting the language above), I would think that a 3 would activate the JL and a 2 would activate the squad but this is what it says in the FAQ.

John

User avatar
Arlequín
Posts: 1290
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:29 pm
Location: King's Vale Royal

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Arlequín » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:23 pm

That does not mention Junior Leaders, so if the squad did not have one all that would be correct.

The U.S. infantry manuals do divide the rifle squad into two teams (three if you count the scouts), so I don't know why they are depicted as being monolithic... I've never read any Japanese or Soviet manuals, so I can't speak for them.

Image
FM7-10 Rifle Company 1944

The lack of sub-units in armored infantry might make tank-riding by 'half squads' (which they did) difficult too. 'Half Squads' as tactical elements are mentioned throughout the manual (FM17-40 Armored Infantry Company 1944).

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3855
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Seret » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:08 pm

john de terre neuve wrote:
I find it puzzling that CD's of 3 are not used (but maybe I am mis-interpreting the language above)
The squad itself only activates on a 2, but it can also be activated by a junior or senior leader using a command initiative.

Strictly speaking, no squad in the game activates on a 3, only leaders do so. But since the leader in question can only activate his squad that's sort of splitting hairs.

Basically the upshot is that you can't use 1s, and a leader can't use initiatives to get teams to do fancy things (because there ain't none).

If you want to create teams you can do so during the game, you just don't start with any.

User avatar
Emilio
Posts: 502
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:43 pm
Location: Cee, Galicia, Northwest Spain
Contact:

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Emilio » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:59 pm

The FAQ doesn´t say that you can´t activate a JL on a 3. You can do it indeed. And the JL can order the formation of an Ad Hoc team of two scouts, for instance.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6113
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Truscott Trotter » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:44 pm

The difference is the US is a single team so can activate on a 1 and can ambush.
The Soviets are a squad that activates on a 2 and cannot ambush.
Subtle difference in wording

Morgan
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Morgan » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:05 pm

Truscott Trotter wrote:The difference is the US is a single team so can activate on a 1 and can ambush.
The Soviets are a squad that activates on a 2 and cannot ambush.
Subtle difference in wording
That's fascinating - I hadn't spotted the "ambush" difference. Interesting.
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1737
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by john de terre neuve » Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:40 am

Thanks all clear now.

Archdukek
Posts: 4494
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Stupid Question: Single Team Squads

Post by Archdukek » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:37 pm

Worth keeping in mind that the American squad has the flexibility to spin off 2 men into a scout team and a 2 man bazooka team thus turning it into a 3 team squad.

John

Post Reply