Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Archdukek
Posts: 5279
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by Archdukek »

It isn’t the vehicle it’s the team in it which meets the victory condition in a Probe scenario. So a jeep or truck with a driver wouldn’t do, but a recce vehicle or other manned vehicle would count.

John

User avatar
Quackstheking
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
Location: Cheshunt, Herts

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by Quackstheking »

If you watch the Beasts of War CoC game with Rich, he used a Sdjfz221 to rush off the table - so yes, vehicles are allowed.

Don

blandj
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:35 am

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by blandj »

Thanks to everyone for their helpful replies. Much appreciated.
Best Wishes,
John.

User avatar
DougM
Posts: 569
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by DougM »

Quackstheking wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 4:55 pm
If you watch the Beasts of War CoC game with Rich, he used a Sdjfz221 to rush off the table - so yes, vehicles are allowed.

Don
You're relying on Rich to know his own rules? :lol:
---------------------------------------------
https://aleadodyssey.blogspot.com/
---------------------------------------------

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 8000
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Looking at definitions on p 10 and the victory conditions for probe it would appear not.

A team is defined infantry, infantry wepons etc. and anything not a team is called a unit e.g. support weapons and things that have no defined structure.

So the implication of using the word team rather than unit is that an infantry team must cross the table edge.

batesmotel34
Posts: 433
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:14 pm

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by batesmotel34 »

I think for the vanilla Probe scenario the requirement is to exit a unit off, not specifically a "team". For example, since a Soviet squad doesn't have teams, it would count to win a probe scenario by exiting the table? That seems highly dubious as an interpretation to me. I would exclude uncrewed transport from counting.

Chris

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 8000
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by Truscott Trotter »

I understood Soviets and Japanese etc were sections of one team?
Otherwise all sort of other rules won't be consistent.

Anyway running vehicle off the table at high speed with maybe a double turn to win probe makes for a boring game for both sides in my book.
YMMV.

User avatar
pman
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:51 pm

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by pman »

The wording is:
The attacker's objective is to move one Team to the enemy baseline.

regards

Peter

User avatar
BaronVonWreckedoften
Posts: 848
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by BaronVonWreckedoften »

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 6:03 am
Anyway running vehicle off the table at high speed with maybe a double turn to win probe makes for a boring game for both sides in my book.
YMMV.
I would totally agree in terms of a one-off game, but it could spice up a PSC - eg by making a "lost" campaign winnable again.
No plan survives first contact with the dice.

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 4145
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Do Vehicles count as a Team when trying to win a "Probe" game ?

Post by Seret »

I think you guys are getting yourselves tied in knots over wording again.

The intention is clearly for the attacker to get part of their force to the opponent's baseline. I don't see what the point in terms of either historical accuracy or gameplay would be to begin splitting hairs about exactly what type of unit got through. It would be weird to disallow recce vehicles or certain types of squads just on technicality of wording.

The defender has to hold the line and prevent the probe from finding gaps to sneak through. If the attacker manages to get anything through that's a win for them.

Post Reply