Ambush Rule Query

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
Eclaireur
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 5:07 pm

Ambush Rule Query

Post by Eclaireur »

My panzerschrek teams uses a CoC dice to employ the ambush rule and brews his Sherman...
But he's got another Sherman on overwatch that gives me the good news - it's 3 points of shock so they're pinned.
So do the schrek team leave the table, having done their ambush turn or are they literally pinned there for the next phase?
EC

Archdukek
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Archdukek »

The panzerschrek team are pinned in place by the Sherman’s fire and can’t withdraw. They’ve been caught.

John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7905
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Truscott Trotter »

29 Lets Go?
I agree with John, the interesting part is if they take 1 or 2 pts of shock and then leave the table, what happens to it? :roll:

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 4144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Seret »

Yep, agree pinned troops can't move so they're stuck there and can't withdraw. Another point of shock or a kill and they're done.
Truscott Trotter wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 11:43 pm
29 Lets Go?
I agree with John, the interesting part is if they take 1 or 2 pts of shock and then leave the table, what happens to it? :roll:
I'd say the shock is gone. They've gone to the rear, reorganised and had a breather and a chat about "phew that was close". It's only ever going to seem weird if you play two ambushes back to back, which isn't common.

Gun-Pit Paul
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 8:41 am

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Gun-Pit Paul »

I would say that it stays with them, until removed by a JL/SL. So the ldr will use a CI off-table before he is deployed. Or it can be removed when they enter the table proper. Hope that makes sense. Paul

Eclaireur
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 5:07 pm

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Eclaireur »

Thanks people - makes sense. Just as well I chose another schrek team on the support options !

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7905
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Well Seret and GPP have summarised the two arguments we went through when it came up.

Both sides have their points.

Thank goodness it doesnt come up too often.😉

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by john de terre neuve »

Funny almost came up in our game last night. I believe if they are pinned the shock should stay with them, until it can be removed.But what happens when and if the shock is removed. I would think they could not disappear and would act if they were deployed.

John

Archdukek
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by Archdukek »

john de terre neuve wrote:
Thu Oct 01, 2020 10:15 am
Funny almost came up in our game last night. I believe if they are pinned the shock should stay with them, until it can be removed.But what happens when and if the shock is removed. I would think they could not disappear and would act if they were deployed.

John
I’d agree. If it fails to withdraw at the end of the phase it ambushes then the team should be treated as having deployed and remain on table.

John

User avatar
DCRBrown
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Ambush Rule Query

Post by DCRBrown »

I'm with the last entry, (esp. as I'm Ec's opponent! ;) ).

If the Ambush has been deployed but is then pinned, the ambush has lost its ability to withdraw. It carried out the ambush but then couldn't withdraw due to enemy fire and is now deployed on the table top.

DB

Post Reply