CoC FAQ

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Archdukek
Posts: 4746
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by Archdukek » Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:37 pm

Yes the rifle grenadier teams can be very unpleasant, especially if you stand still under their bombardment. Better to keep moving to reduce the number of dice they roll. They also become a popular target for off-table mortar barrages in our games.
John

User avatar
pedivere
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:42 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by pedivere » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:42 pm

another sign of the CoC quality - rules work exactly representing what the real counterparts achieved....
best infantry support

User avatar
john de terre neuve
Posts: 1833
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by john de terre neuve » Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:28 pm

Hi Monty,

I wonder if you would like to add the Order of Play to the errata/FAQ.

John

Game Start Order
1. Place Patrol Markers and make free moves, if any
2. Dice for Force Morale
3. Play Patrol Phase
4. Place JOP's
5. Dice for and select supports
6. Place fixed defenses.
7. Adjust Engineer section/squad if any selected
8. Throw Command Dice

note: entrenchments are placed when the team deploys

User avatar
redmist1122
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:58 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by redmist1122 » Thu May 26, 2016 7:48 pm

All,
This question is concerning the Soviet-like squads, which are considered the smallest tactical unit. Playing a lot of Soviets lately, Winter Storm series, I went back to FAQ and notice a few things I completely forgot about playing the Soviets. In particular, "They activate only on a Command Dice roll of 2.".

Can someone explain this? Does it mean no "3" to activate? :?:

Thanks.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA

Munin
Posts: 1076
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by Munin » Thu May 26, 2016 9:59 pm

A 3 activates the JL, who can in turn use his Command Initiatives to make the squad do something (unless he's wounded or killed, of course).

The distinction for Soviets is that in most respects the infantry squad operates as a single team (which would normally activate on a roll of 1), but because this would disproportionately punish Soviet support teams, the infantry squads instead activate on a 2. Mostly, it means that the Soviets have to work harder to do stuff like fire-and-maneuver within a single squad, as it forces the JL to burn a Command Initiative to create separate LMG and rifle teams. This reflects the doctrinal difference in the organization and training of the Red Army, where fire-and-maneuver was done at the platoon level rather than the squad level.

Archdukek
Posts: 4746
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by Archdukek » Thu May 26, 2016 10:58 pm

Greg,
No squad of any nationality activates on a '3'. Junior Leaders in charge of squads, including Soviet ones, activate on a 3 and can use their Command Initiatiaves to activate the squads and teams under their control.
John

User avatar
redmist1122
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:58 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by redmist1122 » Thu May 26, 2016 11:08 pm

Weird...just posted a repose to Munin...and got lost...

Okay, so I understand the "3" w/Jr ldr and the "2" w/o for the squad...same as regular play. The "1" makes sense if the Jr Ldr uses ones of his initiatives to establish a sub-group...then that group/team can activate on a "1".

The verbiage in FAQ was a little hard to decipher.

Thanks.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA

PatG
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:06 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by PatG » Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:49 pm

New from Rich on Facebook re double 6's

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1444501 ... ent_follow

"Lardy Rich: If we ever do CoC v2, 6d6 will be limited to a tiny handful of troops like the LRDG. Nobody else."

Captain W Martin
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by Captain W Martin » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:48 pm

That's not really about double 6's....its about 6d6 command dice (which does have the effect of making double 6's more likely!).

Captain W Martin
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: CoC FAQ

Post by Captain W Martin » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:47 pm

Any chance of posting the new FAQ here?

Post Reply