Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7600
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Truscott Trotter »

A question arose in last night game.

A team is playing the ambush CoC die.
They deploy and fire and the enemy on overwatch returns fire causing casualties and/or shock.
OK so far so good.

We assume any kills are carried forward by the ambushing team but what about shock?

1.) Do the ambusher's carry the shock if they leave the table?

2.) What if they are then used for a further ambush in the next phase - maybe part of a double phase even?

3.) Further to this question what if the level of shock is enough to pin them?
Sect 14.5 p 63
If a Unit was fired at while moving, and was Pinned as a result, then
they will halt at the point where they took fire.

presumably they would not then be able to be removed but would be forced to remain on table?

TIA
TT

Peter
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Peter »

1 No
2 No (keep it simple)
3 They can't move, so they can't escape.

YMMV

Peter

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7600
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Truscott Trotter »

@ Peter
Thanks for the feedback so on 2 you are saying the shock disappears the moment they withdraw?

User avatar
Greg Bradfield
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:09 am

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Greg Bradfield »

My take would be as Peter said keep it simple

1. No
2. No
3. They can't move, so can't escape but with the addition that the parent team or section will need to join them at some time to assist in recovering them, shock sharing and getting them fighting and moving again.

On the other hand realistically

1. they would carry shock off which would be shared with the parent section. So at eventual deployment they would be coming back on with shock.
2. If the same group of men ambush any further the shock would still be on them.
3. They can't move, so can't escape but with the addition that the parent team or section will need to join them at some time to assist in recovering them, shock sharing and getting them fighting and moving again.

GReg

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7600
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Thanks Greg, hadn't thought of the problems of the rest of the section, hmm interesting.

Peter
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Peter »

Only the team has shock, it doesn't need to share it (sharing is only a thing to ensure the section breaks, not a single team).
Realistically... a leader 'off table' would rally it off before they cam back. I'd rather not be bothered with the bookkeeping.
So yes, shock disappears the moment they are off the table.

Peter

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7600
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Truscott Trotter »

So would you have the player spend the CI to remove the shock or is it free?

Peter
Posts: 1188
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Peter »

Free. It's happening off table and out of the immediate combat zone. And that keeps it simple for the likes of me, a bear of little brain.

Peter

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 4110
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Seret »

Peter wrote:
Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:53 am
1 No
2 No (keep it simple)
3 They can't move, so they can't escape.
Works for me too.

If the ambushing team do disappear off-table they're assumed to have broken contact and gone to the platoon's rear. So having them auto-rally seems pretty sensible. They're out of the firing line, get to take a little breather and de-stress. Plenty of accounts from real fighting stress the psychological benefit of taking men off the line even for a short break.

Plus, there are no rules for commanding and rallying things while off table, so KISS!

Chaingun
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:17 am

Re: Ambush and Overwatch fire results

Post by Chaingun »

I agree with Peter on point 3. First of all keep it simple, but it makes sense with it happening off table and an officer rallying them once the task is done.

Adding to the narrative of the question, this could be another job for the adjutant which you paid for in the support list 😁
https://battlebunkerblog.com Wargaming for fun :D

Post Reply