Starting in CoC, looking for help on 15mm vs 20mm

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

GutterPup

Starting in CoC, looking for help on 15mm vs 20mm

Post by GutterPup »

I am about to go all in for Chain of Command and Sharp Practice. The smaller ranges of the latter have me investing in 28mm, but I feel the former at 28mm would need a 12'x12' playing area or it would feel too cramped/close quarters. Id also like to be able to use the same tanks for CoC and What a Tanker, and that game seems to benefit from the smallest models possible to allow for maneuvre.

Does anyone have good pictures of CoC tables at 15, 20, and 28mm to compare? Im a newbie to anything but GW, which will be the most economicall, 15mm or 20mm? I would assume smaller, but demand differences might mean that 20mm actually comes out cheaper.

Truscott Trotter

Re: Starting in CoC, looking for help on 15mm vs 20mm

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Have played 6x4 with 28mm for last 6 years no problems. I love the figures and models at that scale.

Having said that it plays just as well at either 15 or 20mm more empty space at 15mm and harder to see individual figures and armaments at 15mm at least for me!

Lots of really nice 20mm figures out there too and cheaper than 28mm.

What scale are you likely to get more games at without providing both sides?
28mm

Plenty of photos on CoC facebook.
Good 20mm shots google tacticalpainters blog

Emilio

Post by Emilio »

I am parcial too 20mm because I already had a lot of 1/72 kit tanks and minis from the old Fantassin range that a friend gave to me. Now that Fantassin original owner is making new minis as Xan Miniatures, I am more parcial indeed! (Xan is a friend of mine).

And see this:

https://thetacticalpainter.blogspot.com ... guide.html

I own 28mm minis too (british paras and building an american infantry platoon), but my plan is using mainly 20mm. I own more 20mm minis than 28mm, and you can store more.

Milo.

siggian

Post by siggian »