Armoured vehicle forced off table

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Nick B
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:46 am

Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Nick B » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:27 am

Last night I had a bren carrier fired at by an MG. If failed its saves and a roll made against zero hits - the result causing it to reverse off table.

If the vehicle leaves the table in this way:

1. Can it return? (no shock on it etc)

2. If not does it count as lost and "bad things happen"/morale loss?

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Truscott Trotter » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:28 am

1. Nope
2 Yup

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by JOHN BOND 001 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:39 am

Nick B wrote:
Last night I had a bren carrier fired at by an MG. If failed its saves and a roll made against zero hits
Nick the LMG and MMG need to be at Close range in order to have any effect on Armoured vehicles.
Page 42 rule book:
9.3.3
".......This will only ever be effective when the weopon is firing at close range....."

And the off table MMG is classed as LONG range.
Page 108 Blitzkrieg 1940 handbook
"The weapon activates on Command Dice roll of 5, firing with 10D6 and hitting at long range"

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Truscott Trotter » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:23 am

John Wot off table MMG?

User avatar
JOHN BOND 001
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by JOHN BOND 001 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:33 am

Thanks TT I read Nick's post quickly and only saw MG+ Armoured vehicle + off table
My mistake , sorry Nick and TT :oops:
but the information is useful for anyone asking about off board MG firing on Armoured vehicle

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Truscott Trotter » Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:38 am

Indeed it is John I have a phd in misreading emails ....especially before 7am.

Captain W Martin
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Captain W Martin » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:10 pm

I'm pretty sure I've seen Rich post on FB that this isnt the case and it CAN return?

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Truscott Trotter » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:07 pm

Well that would open a largeish can of worms.

So what about AFV's forced back by other shooting?

What about infantry falling back off table due to say close combat?

Can troops be shot at while they are off table or do they become invisible?

When do they come back on and more importantly where?

Do they have to come back on at the exact same spot and if so why?

Thats just for starters.

Yes I am sure you could provide 'answers' but none of them are in the rules.

Over the years the concept of the "table edge of doom" has become the norm for a reason.......

Nick B
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:46 am

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Nick B » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:26 pm

Thanks for your thoughts.

We played it that it could return - simply deployed as per the usual rules (needing a 3 on a command die). This actually seemed fine.

In respect of being "invisible" - only in the same way as any other troops you haven't deployed which are meant to be just off table.

Infantry forced off the table following melee are likely to have taken a beating and are are likely to be in poor shape. This IMO is different to a vehicle suffering no damage and no morale effect, reversing off.

Anyway - we were both happy to play that way and in the absence of official guidance we'll use it as a house rule. I shall have a search on the FB page to see if I can fins Rich's comments.

Archdukek
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Post by Archdukek » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:29 pm

Captain W Martin wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:10 pm
I'm pretty sure I've seen Rich post on FB that this isnt the case and it CAN return?
I'm pretty sure he did too, but that's one ruling I usually ignore partly for the reasons TT gives, plus it stops vehicles skulking at the edge, but mainly cause it's hilarious when it happens and I have a wicked sense of humour. :twisted: :D

John

Post Reply