Page 1 of 1

Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:46 pm
by gsymko
Bloody Bucket Table 2 and 6 have the US getting 1/2 D6 moves before the patrol phase. Does this mean the Germans don't get the D6 free moves?

Re: Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 am
by Truscott Trotter
Interesting question

I have not played the PSC but read the notes now

I would guess the German still gets his free moves as they are part of the mission but normally the defender deploys across a section of table but in this case that appears to have been replaced by the free 1/2 D6 move from a point.

I would have the US player to make his moves free first

Re: Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:41 pm
by mgluteus
As I understand it, if the scenario in a mini campaign doesn't tell you to use the set up in the rule book but substitutes its own - then you use the set up of the campaign. So only the US gets the 1/2 D6 move the Germans get NONE.

Re: Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:14 pm
by john de terre neuve
Hi Greg,

I agree with Dick. Scenario descriptions in campaigns unless saying otherwise go with the main rulebook conditions.

In this case from S2 in campaign:
Both players will field four Patrol Markers for this scenario with the US defender taking 1⁄2D6 Patrol Marker moves before the Patrol Phase begins.
It seems clear to me this supercedes from S2 in rulebook:
The attacker rolls 1D6 before the Patrol Phase begins. On a roll of 1 or 2, the attacker immediately takes two moves with his Patrol Markers. On a roll of 3 or 4, three moves are taken and on a 5 or 6, four moves taken.


I believe this is a case where it says otherwise.

John

Re: Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:13 pm
by gsymko
Thanks!

Re: Bloody Bucket patrol phases

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:40 pm
by Truscott Trotter
It could be an addition as easily as a replacement.

Having the attacker with no movement in a mission when they would normally seems a bit of a penalty.

That is the defender is really getting the jump on the attacker. Maybe that reflects the real life situation?
Did the aGer.and blunder in on a narrow front?
I would not make a call on that without further research.