JOP clarification

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 4095
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Seret »

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 8:29 am
Its the length of 'parking' thats at rhe core of the discussion
There's nothing in the wording that suggests they have to stick around.

Granted it's normally a bit of a moot point, since in my experience you end the turn as soon as you get onto an enemy JOP. But the rules don't require you to still be on it when the turn ends, once you touch it, it's "captured" and the owner will have to get his own guys back onto it to reverse that.

It's not likely to happen with infantry, but I could see a vehicle doing a dash over the top of a JOP and capturing it without sticking around.

Archdukek
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Archdukek »

Fair enough. I stand corrected.
I don't think I have ever seen it happen that the capturing troops don't stick around to defend the captured JOP if the occupying player doesn't have a handy CoC dice available to end the Turn.

John

User avatar
Quackstheking
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:07 am
Location: Cheshunt, Herts

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Quackstheking »

I was involved in a game on Tuesday at Lard Island where we had a really unusual occurrence!

The Traitor McK took a jump off point with squad of Pzr Grens. He then moved the PG’s off to put pressure on the Brits but because the JoP had been captured we couldn’t deploy to it .

Then the cunning Nazi used a CoC dice to advance his own JoP to sit on our captured JoP; waited for a command dice roll of 1 and then deployed a 1pt engineer team to the JoP and sat there until the turn naturally ended , removing our JoP with a resulting BTH roll - cunning BarSteward,,,

However coming back to point in discussion, once a JoPs been captured (I.e passed over it) you stop any enemy deploying from it. It does not mean you can’t move away from it - you have merely denied the enemy their clear route to deploy because you have discovered it. Unless recaptured, a turn end removes the JoP.

Hope that helps!

Don

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter »

I can see a lot of motorcycles in my future.... 😋

OldNick
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:59 am
Location: Coventry UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by OldNick »

As has been pointed out in several threads previously, m/cs, carriers, jeeps and similar are high risk options due to their vulnerability.
Mind you, if you have the patience to wait until you have the dice to end the turn ready they’ve a good chance of taking a JOP, even if they may be a team eliminated bth roll soon afterwards.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Drive through high speed small target maybe end in cover good luck hitting it.

OldNick
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:59 am
Location: Coventry UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by OldNick »

Small teams on their own accumulate shock quickly and get pinned.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Its an afv you have to hit it first

Archdukek
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Archdukek »

Put the JOP behind a hedge and watch the motorcyclists scream cause they can't cross to reach it! 😄

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7518
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter »

We drive through the closed gate Steve McQueen style! 🤣

Post Reply