JOP clarification

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
MLB
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:57 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: JOP clarification

Post by MLB » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:52 pm

I’m certain Rich clarified this somewhere. Move into contact with the JoP it is captured. No need to sit on it until turn end and if the enemy has not recaptured by turn end then it is removed. People have a tendency to keep a unit in contact to ensure it is not recaptured but if you’ve pushed your opponent back and recapture looks very unlikely then no need to waste a unit on guard duty until turn end. Seems reasonable.
The Tactical Painter https://thetacticalpainter.blogspot.com
Painting little soldiers for tactical battles on the table top

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6706
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter » Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:00 am

I couldn't find it in the ,FAQ

User avatar
Greg Bradfield
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:09 am

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Greg Bradfield » Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:25 pm

To re capture it you need to come to within 4" of it correct so if the enemy has moved off that is not a problem. What if they are still within 4" to one side of the JOP and you come to within 4"from the other side then both are within 4"of it who ones it now. Must he be eliminated or routed from JOP for your 4"to be seen as recapturing the JOP?

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3934
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Seret » Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Greg Bradfield wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:25 pm
To re capture it you need to come to within 4" of it correct
It says they have to move "onto" the JOP, which I would take to mean actually touching it.

If the enemy is still within 4" when you move troops back onto it then you still can't actually use the JOP until they're gone. Happily, there's a good chance moving that close would trigger close combat and you could see them off at the point of a bayonet.

Archdukek
Posts: 4638
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Archdukek » Fri Jul 05, 2019 8:55 pm

I agree with Seret.
Moving within 4" does not allow the enemy to capture a JOP merely block its use, so why should moving within 4" allow a captured JOP to be recaptured? Makes no sense. Contact with the JOP is needed in both cases.

John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6706
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter » Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:13 pm

Agreed
However, if you capture a JOP and then move off leaving no troops within 4" I see no reason rhat JOP cannot be used before the turn ends.

You are not locking a dungeon door its just a peice of terrain. . The O group may not even know its captured at this point. I assume the end of turn is sufficient break to get the message bacl that the JOP is no longer safe.

Archdukek
Posts: 4638
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Archdukek » Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:25 pm

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:13 pm
Agreed
However, if you capture a JOP and then move off leaving no troops within 4" I see no reason rhat JOP cannot be used before the turn ends.

You are not locking a dungeon door its just a peice of terrain. . The O group may not even know its captured at this point. I assume the end of turn is sufficient break to get the message bacl that the JOP is no longer safe.
Because TT it clearly states in section 7.6, as quoted by John in his original post, that a captured JOP cannot be used for the remainder of the turn.

John

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6706
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Truscott Trotter » Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:34 am

Hi John
Yup am aware of the wording and the interpretation that as it does not specifically say you have to stay on it to capture it and that means you can play tag with it and move away leaving it 'magically' shut down until the end of the turn.

However playing the period not the rules it makes far more sense to me that you have to make some effort to actually shut down the JOP and have time for the enemy to be aware that it is no longer safe to use that deployment route.

I have read many accounts of troops apparently clearing the enemy from an area only to move off and have them pop up behind them in what was supposed to be safe areas.

YMMV.

Cheers
TT

User avatar
Seret
Posts: 3934
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:45 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: JOP clarification

Post by Seret » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:45 am

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:13 pm
You are not locking a dungeon door its just a peice of terrain. . The O group may not even know its captured at this point.
O group should know it's been captured, they're aware of the location of any troops the enemy has deployed. That's what deploying troops in CoC means, they go from being concealed to revealed.

Once the JOP is suspect, you have to dispatch troops to confirm that it is in fact ok. That seems totally ok from the "period not rules" perspective to me, it's what a real platoon commander would do. You wouldn't just assume "oh, it's been ages since the enemy were seen near that infiltration route, and we can't see them now. I'm sure they've not done something unpleasant like set an ambush and have instead wandered off". No, you'd send some guys to carefully check it out and report back to you.

User avatar
MLB
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:57 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: JOP clarification

Post by MLB » Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:20 am

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:00 am
I couldn't find it in the ,FAQ
No, it was his reply to comment on Facebook or in the forum. One side overrruns the JoP, the other side is aware the JoP is no longer secure and so it is effectively lost (ie captured). Even if not physically ‘occupied’ the enemy has been known to have been there, so until it can be secured it won’t be used. To re-use it would require men to be dispatched to make it secure (in CoC terms, until it is recaptured). Seems reasonable enough.
The Tactical Painter https://thetacticalpainter.blogspot.com
Painting little soldiers for tactical battles on the table top

Post Reply