Martlet Turns Limitation

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
bvera
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by bvera » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:15 am

I’m re-reading the Martlet pint-sized campaign. I may have awoken a bit thick but don’t wholly understand the turn limitation explained in the last 2 pages of the book.
Please confirm I got it clear:
- The total number of turns for the whole campaign is 11
- At the end of that turn the British must have captured Raury (last to be winners
- The impact of artillery and the mist therefore last for very few turns, not just table 1 as I was previously thinking

This should force the British too think twice before using a dice to end a turn
Thanks
B
Benito
...and visit my blog! http://mylardiesgames.blogspot.com.es/

OldNick
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:59 am
Location: Coventry UK

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by OldNick » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:23 am

Are you perhaps getting the number of turns in an individual battle (ie the number of times a turn is ended) confused with the number of turns (ie battles) played in the campaign?

User avatar
bvera
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by bvera » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:56 am

That’s precisely what I’d like to clarify
If the limit of 11 turns is for the whole campaign
This is what I understand from the Umpire notes in the last page of the campaign book
Benito
...and visit my blog! http://mylardiesgames.blogspot.com.es/

OldNick
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:59 am
Location: Coventry UK

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by OldNick » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:30 am

11 turns, in that case indicates 11 battles as an absolute limit for the campaign.

It has no connection to the number of turns played with battles.

Morgan
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by Morgan » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:34 am

The number of turns within a particular game do not relate to the "Campaign Turns" - they are two different things. Everywhere that it refers to a "Turn" in the Operation Martlet PSC (pages 15, 15, 27, 27) it means a "Campaign Turn". If it were me, I would have used different words as they are two completely different things. In the case of the "11 turns" it really means "11 games".
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

Archdukek
Posts: 4653
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by Archdukek » Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:15 pm

Morgan wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:34 am
If it were me, I would have used different words as they are two completely different things. In the case of the "11 turns" it really means "11 games".
Being pedantic more like "potentially 11 games maximum", since the player with the initiative could choose not to attack while the defender decides to consolidate in place, thus having a campaign Turn without a battle.

However, the key point is, as you say, we are talking about Campaign Turns, not game turns, of which there are 5 in the first day all of which could involve a pre-game barrage for the British as can the 6th Campaign Turn on the morning of the second day.

John

Morgan
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by Morgan » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:05 pm

Ooo, very true! Pedantry approved!
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 6799
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by Truscott Trotter » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:24 pm

Good now that's sorted we can return to the perpetual discussion or the petards AP potential.
Now here's a chance for pedantry! . :mrgreen:

Morgan
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by Morgan » Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:47 am

Entirely anecdotal but ...
... The grandfather of a friend of mine was an AVRE commander and claimed that they came across a Tiger behind a hedge that hadn't spotted them and which they took out with the mortar. Now, probably more likely it was a PzIV, if true at all, but my vote goes for "enough AP to take out a badly obscured, unsuspecting Pz IV behind soft cover." :-)
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

User avatar
bvera
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Martlet Turns Limitation

Post by bvera » Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:10 am

After all this Churchill chat, I just bought the Warlord model in Amazon that comes with the AVRE variant.
B
Benito
...and visit my blog! http://mylardiesgames.blogspot.com.es/

Post Reply