Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7662
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Truscott Trotter »

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panzerfaust
this was the most common version, and was completed in early 1944. However, it did not reach full production until September 1944, when 400,000 were to be produced each month

Does not mean there were not many in service before September 44

More detailed breakdown
Panzerfaust (Faustpatron):
1943 08 - 7(,000);
1943 09 - 17;
1943 10 - 65;
1943 11 - 97;
1943 12 - 164;
Total - 350

1944 01 - 170;
1944 02 - 221;
1944 03 - 258;
1944 04 - 331;
1944 05 - 433;
1944 06 - 323;
1944 07 - 220;
1944 08 - 412;
1944 09 - 487;
1944 10 - 425;
1944 11 - 1084;
1944 12 - 1296;
Total - 5 662.

Source - D. Eichholtz. Geschichte der deutschen Kriegswirtschaft 1939-1945. Bd. II/2. Muenchen, 1999. S. 646-647.

Some slight dispute over these figures here
https://forum.axishistory.com/viewtopic.php?t=208372

Nother source entirely
https://ww2-weapons.com/panzerfaust/
Panzerfaust 60 data
Production delivery October 1943 (Panzerfaust 30), summer 1944 (60), November 1944 (100), January 1945 (150)
Final delivery April 1945
Production figure 1943 c. 500,000
Production figure 1944 c. 5,570,000 (404,000 in October; 1,186,000 in November; 1,280,000 in December)
Production figure January and February 1945 2,056,000 (1,000,000 in January)
Inventory October 1944 1,019,000
Inventory November 1944 998,000
Inventory December 1944 1,717,000
Inventory January 1945 2,054,000
Inventory February 1945 2,508,000
Inventory March 1945 3,018,000

jdg
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:08 am
Location: Near Phoenix, Arizona

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by jdg »

Panzerfaust 30 "Klein" July '43 - Summer '44
Panzerfaust 30 Late '43 - Early '45
Both were in production at the same time.

Panzerfaust 60 Summer '44
Panzerfaust 100 November '44
Panzerfaust 150 January '45 but few actually reached the troops before the wars end

Cyrax
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:36 am

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Cyrax »

Q: When a tracked vehicle (StuG IIIF in this case) is driving over a hedge, how does one determine if it gets stuck or not due to "damaged running gear?"

A: Hedges do not immobilise tracked vehicles
But
Fully‐tracked vehicles crossing solid obstacles
such as stone walls over waist height or steep
banks must do so at fast speed but will discard
the lower dice rolled. If they roll a double they
will become temporarily immobilised.
Last edited by Cyrax on Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Morgan
Posts: 255
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:39 pm

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Morgan »

That's under "11.6.1 Movement Restrictions".
Use the Consolidated Arsenal! It's here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... E/htmlview

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7662
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Hedges do not immobilise tracked vehicles
But
Fully‐tracked vehicles crossing solid obstacles
such as stone walls over waist height or steep
banks must do so at fast speed but will discard
the lower dice rolled. If they roll a double they
will become temporarily immobilised.

Cyrax
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:36 am

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Cyrax »

Thank you.

This one's not really rule related, but relevant nonetheless.

Q: What color do you guys prefer to make your roads? My friend and I are playing panzergrenadier vs. US para troopers, so the setting is probably Normandy. I made a test road panel, but before I get carried away and make 12 more, I wanna make a decision as to what color.

User avatar
Truscott Trotter
Posts: 7662
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Tasmania the Southernmost CoC in the world

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Truscott Trotter »

Grey - All roads are grey.....in the dark ;)

I have grey and brown but if I did them again I would do a light limestone colour - can be used in South / Central France, Poland , Russia, Italy and Sicily - maybe N Africa too! 8-)

Cyrax
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:36 am

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Cyrax »

Q: So I caught my friends M2 machine gun team on the second floor of a building with my StuH42. The building is unstable and his team is broken. How do we handle the breaking unit moving through the structure and out of it?

Q: Also, his Jump-off Point is inside the collapsing structure. When it collapses, is the point lost? How would that affect morale?

Q: He is also trying to throw grenades out of a second floor window at my team lined up against the wall on the outside of the building on the first floor. Can he?

Archdukek
Posts: 5145
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Archdukek »

Hi Cyrax,
Here's my answers to your questions:
1) Broken units ignore all terrain effects (see FAQ) so I would just move them 2D6+6" out of the building and away from the enemy.
2) No, you only lose a Jump Off Point if the enemy captures it. Having a building collapse on it has no effect, assuming troops can still be deployed within the correct distance outside the collapsed building.
3) When you say your team is outside on the first floor, I assume you mean they are on what we in the UK call the ground floor? There is nothing to stop the enemy dropping grenades from the window above, just roll as normal measuring the range from the window. The usual minimum 4" rule doesn't apply since the "throwers" are in hard cover (page 40).

John

Munin
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:49 pm

Re: Ongoing Rule Clarification Thread

Post by Munin »

Yeah, dropping grenades out a window is dead simple and standard practice to disrupt enemy troops massing to make a contested entry.

Post Reply