Looking for a Napoleonic Game

Moderators: Vis Bellica, Laffe

Chris68

Looking for a Napoleonic Game

Post by Chris68 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:52 pm

I really like IABSM3, I've got Chain of Command, and I like the concept of 'friction'.

I'm undecided on a Nap wargame though, but I've got 3 options

Est sans resultat
General de Brigade 2ed
Le Feu Sacre

I'd like to play in either 6mm or 15mm and be in control of large armies. I'm also very new to wargaming and an absolute novice on the Napoleonic scene.

I tend to lean toward realistic games but not to the point where nothing much gets done in 4 hours.

Any advice?

Thanks all
Last edited by Chris68 on Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Diolch yn Fawr,
Chris

Peter Gilder: "I'm open for surrenders between 9 and 7."

Zippee

Re: Looking for a Napoleonic Game

Post by Zippee » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:46 pm

Is there a question in there?

I've played LFS - quite a lot unsurprisingly and I have posted very many adaptions and basing options specifically for 6mm. Join the Yahoo group and look for my name in the files/folders there you will find a host of stuff for 6mm LFS.

I've looked at the blurb for ESR - it looks very detailed and from what I can see it's a development of Empire and Elan both are IMO slow and tedious games. ESR does look nicely produced though and I haven't played so can't really comment beyond a gut feel.

GdB I've played quite a bit - it's all the rage at one of my local clubs, hardly surprising as it's the authors club. However it just doesn't quite do it for me - I find many of the mechanics rather 'old fashioned' and intrusive. That said it's extremely popular and has a wide fan base. Despite the title it's really aimed at a division plus per side but often gets used for multi-corps games, that can be a problem at times, leads to very, very crowded tables that just don't look right.