Page 1 of 1

Leaders and excess shock in a formation

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 5:47 pm
by bunguster
Hi to you all. Imagine a formation of three groups with a leader who is attached to the centre group.
If, say, the right hand group accumulates excess shock do I count in the leader as one of the men or only count him for the group he is attached to?
(I realise there is some debate about whether we should count the leader in the first place, but I tend to go along with the rule paragraph on p50 about out of action leaders not counting which implies unwounded and able leaders do count in the figure headcount).
Regards
Paul C

Re: Leaders and excess shock in a formation

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 5:55 pm
by Captain Reid
Leaders who are not knocked out do count for model count purposes. As do any holy men and (presumably) physics accompanying the Group. RAW musicians do not, which I think is silly, so in my games they do.

Re: Leaders and excess shock in a formation

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 6:03 pm
by JimLeCat
He is attached to the centre group, not the formation as a whole, and shock is assessed against the individual groups, so no, you don't count him (see the top of page. 34).

Re: Leaders and excess shock in a formation

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 6:05 pm
by Archdukek
Hi Paul,
To answer your original question, a Leader only counts for the Group he is attached to when calculating the effect of Shock.

John

Re: Leaders and excess shock in a formation

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 6:10 pm
by bunguster
Page 34 - there it is - thank you JimLeCat. I thought I had spotted it somewhere. I have updated the index page references with that additional p34.
Thanks again.
Paul C