Adding Leader Status to Fire

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
weharding
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by weharding »

Hey all,

Had this question come up during our last playthrough.

Does a leader need to spend a point to activate a unit fire, before adding his Status to fire? (IE Status 2 leader adding 2d6)

Relevant page from rules is 22, it states:

"...a Leader can use one command initiative to do the following:"

"-Activate a group or formation...."

"-Direct the fire of a formation or group he is attached to, adding 1d6 of fire for each level of Status"

For example a Status 2 leader is attached to a formation, he could spend one of his command initiatives to activate a unit in his command range, this unit does its two actions normally. Then he directs the fire of the unit he is attached to and adds 2d6 to fire.

Does the unit being directed get to activate as normally or is does it strictly fire? (Can it present/reload?)

Or does the leader have to spend one point to activate the unit, then during its fire does he expend his second point to direct fire? Preventing him from activating another unit in his command range.


Cheers!

Archdukek
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by Archdukek »

An attached Leader only needs to use 1 Command Initiative to activate a unit to fire and is assumed to be directing that fire and so adds his Status Level in extra fire dice. The unit activates as normal so can fire and reload, present and fire or move and fire, all benefitting from the additional dice.
He can then use his other CI as he wishes.

John

weharding
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by weharding »

Thanks for response John, then we have been doing it correctly!

mturner
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:40 pm

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by mturner »

Similar situation, a Status 2 leader activates a group/unit to fire and then uses his other command initiative to activate another group/unit within his range, do both shots add his additional 2d6s?

Peter
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by Peter »

I only allow them to get the bonus if attached. Certainly no double-dipping!

Peter

Archdukek
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by Archdukek »

The Leader needs to be attached to a unit to add his additional dice to its firing and since he can only be attached to one unit any other unit he activates within his command range won't benefit. As Peter says, no double-dipping!

John

mturner
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 10:40 pm

Re: Adding Leader Status to Fire

Post by mturner »

Thank you for the quick reply!

Post Reply