How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
EvinW
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 9:00 am

How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Post by EvinW » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:26 pm

Hi all,

At the moment I am playing my first game of TMB, and two questions arose.

1. How many times can a unit be activated per turn? Could a innitiative II Big Man activate a unit twice, or only once?

2. Also, say a unit was activated by it's I Big Man, and it shot using two action dice. Next card I draw is my status III Big Man, could he activate that earlier unit again (and maybe even make it shoot thrice, as per question 1)?

Rawnsley
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Post by Rawnsley » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:53 pm

A unit can only be activated once per turn.

Archdukek
Posts: 3566
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Post by Archdukek » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:14 pm

As has been said a unit can only be activated once per Turn either by a Big Man or on the Snifter card. When activated a unit has 2 actions and only 2 actions, irrespective of the Status Level of the Big Man who activates them.

In your example, if the unit had not been activated by the Level 1 Big Man, then the Level 3 Big Man could activate them and enhance their shooting as per the rules on page 20. However, he can't get them to fire 3 times.

John

pdendrijver
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Post by pdendrijver » Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:25 pm

Thanks! This got us mighty confused, but it seems we played it correctly. :)

a related question:
The "snifter" card, all units are allowed to shoot, we played this as all the shooting happening at the same time, so no casualties were removed until every unit made their attacks. Was this the intended way of playing?

Archdukek
Posts: 3566
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Linlithgow, West Lothian, UK

Re: How many times can a unit get activated per turn?

Post by Archdukek » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:26 am

Yes, that's how we play fire on the snifter card too, it's simultaneous.

John

Post Reply