Nobles in combat

Moderators: Laffe, Vis Bellica

Post Reply
Sir Tobi
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:54 pm

Nobles in combat

Post by Sir Tobi »

Hi,

I'm sorry, this question has certainly been posed elsewhere but I can't find it. If a noble is in combat on his own (since the group he was with has been wiped out and he chose to fight) he counts hits as wounds and ignores shock. But what is he rated as? If he is the lord, he is certainly elite. But if he only is status I and commanded some skirmishers, is he a warrior/ raider or also elite?

We had a strange situation - a lord was in combat with a complete group of warriors. He slew them all, because they did roll many 5's but no 6 (which is only an ignored shock). It was rather cineastic, however it seems to be a good strategy to send in nobles on their own - as they ignore shock, they do last much longer as a unit of elites :?

Best,
Tobi

User avatar
Derek H
Posts: 1252
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:50 pm
Location: Musselburgh, near Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Nobles in combat

Post by Derek H »

I always just make all Nobles Elite. A Noble should be better than any commoner other than an Elite.

Remember the rules on Nobles becoming isolated in combat on p.48
All the Lard News in one place - Lard Central http://www.netvibes.com/lardcentral
Pimping my blog - Dereks Wee Toys http://dereksweetoys.com/

User avatar
WillieB
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:47 pm
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Nobles in combat

Post by WillieB »

Same here. We always count a sole Noble as Elite. Makes for an exciting fight sometimes. I'm sure Glenn will always remember wiping out a group of 5 warriors with his Lvl II Noble.
You can't buy honour.

Post Reply