Search found 63 matches

by gcoops
Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:44 am
Forum: Infamy, Infamy!
Topic: Zero, Zero!
Replies: 18
Views: 3041

Re: Zero, Zero!

Of course, "Arab Numerals" actually originated in India. They came to be called "Arab numerals" because they were introduced to Europeans in the 10th Century by Arab traders. Some of the earliest examples of their use can be found in the spire of Salisbury Cathedral, marking beams during the constru...
by gcoops
Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:05 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: 1940 Dutch Farm Fields
Replies: 13
Views: 2394

Re: 1940 Dutch Farm Fields

Due to the low lying ground, fields tend to be bounded by ditches to aid drainage/irrigation but little else. A few thin hedges.

Roads are similarly bounded although many are raised and tree lined.
by gcoops
Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: 29, Let’s Go! localised counterattack
Replies: 12
Views: 1799

Re: 29, Let’s Go! localised counterattack

Hmm yes, I take your point. But I'd still fight it out on table 3. The question then, is which platoon to use - the "core platoon" or the platoon from the flank. I would probably say the core platoon - having the initiative and seeing the Americans off balance the core platoon counter-attack down th...
by gcoops
Mon Jun 15, 2020 12:34 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: 29, Let’s Go! localised counterattack
Replies: 12
Views: 1799

Re: 29, Let’s Go! localised counterattack

Normally in the PSCs Rich will point out the exceptions rather than the rule. So, being as he has not made any particular point about the counter attack, I play it by the rule - that you just move down to the next rung on the ladder - so if the Germans won on table 4, thereby having the initiative, ...
by gcoops
Tue Jun 02, 2020 10:17 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Share your favourite house rules
Replies: 29
Views: 6164

Re: Share your favourite house rules

Tend to play RAW but it seems many have an issue with multiple "double turns". Multiple double turns don't bother me - It's all part of the narrative and I put it down to the many accounts of inertia, confusion, incompetence, etc but I can see how it can be annoying. One house rule I've played is yo...
by gcoops
Sun May 31, 2020 9:40 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Pre-Game Barrage Question
Replies: 6
Views: 1220

Re: Pre-Game Barrage Question

If I use a 4 to bring on a senior leader (or a 1 for a support team, etc) if they fail to come on due to failing the pre-game barrage roll can I use another 4 (or 1, etc) to try again in the same phase?
by gcoops
Fri May 29, 2020 10:09 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign
Replies: 9
Views: 1904

Re: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign

Unless you want to counterattack and potentially have a very short campaign I would play it that the German's strengthen their position and pass initiative back to the US. Field defences remain for subsequent games unless removed by engineers. Also remember that for this game the US get a free smoke...
by gcoops
Thu May 28, 2020 3:56 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign
Replies: 9
Views: 1904

Re: A bit confused about PSCs and the Rendezvous with Destiny campaign

If the US win you progress on to Scenario 3. That's simple. Otherwise, it details on page 3: "...in Scenarios Two and Three while the US player may retain initiative the German player is the “attacker” for setup purposes. If the German player has the initiative they may choose to push the US forces ...
by gcoops
Thu May 28, 2020 2:36 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaigns
Replies: 13
Views: 2281

Re: Campaigns

I found Operation Martlet pretty balanced and challenging. When played with my regular opponent victory all came down to the last map, as it did with 29 Let's Go. As has been previously said, in a campaign the fun is sometimes knowing when to make a tactical withdrawal or press an advantage. More th...
by gcoops
Mon May 18, 2020 8:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Ambush with tank destroyers
Replies: 19
Views: 3860

Re: Ambush with tank destroyers

Yes. With a junior leader activation (3) you can fire and then reverse.