Search found 134 matches

by mgluteus
Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:30 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Another 29 Let's Go question
Replies: 5
Views: 1649

Another 29 Let's Go question

We are replaying Scenario 3 as the Germans barely won the last one and have decided to hold and strengthen their defenses. They have lost a Marder. We know that the German unit is not the main unit fighting along the highway, but Campaign book seems ambiguous to me as to whether we should count casu...
by mgluteus
Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:12 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support Points in Scenario One: The Patrol
Replies: 37
Views: 9672

Re: Support Points in Scenario One: The Patrol

Chris wrote: "I'm also a long time ancients player so have had lots of practice arguing rules WRG style with other players and even with Mr. Barker himself."

How well I know
Greeting Chris - I hope to get to Hudson someday to participate in COC game.
Dick Bryant
by mgluteus
Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Blocking entry roads with mine fields
Replies: 19
Views: 5074

Re: Blocking entry roads with mine fields

Please look at the map for Flanking St Germain-Du-Pert in 29, Lets Go. the road entry shows the road edge at less than 1" from the table edge and the center of the road 2". Being a retired engineer, I scale all the maps to get the layout correct. I also use the center line of the road as my measurem...
by mgluteus
Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Blocking entry roads with mine fields
Replies: 19
Views: 5074

Re: Blocking entry roads with mine fields

Many Thanks Rich and John. I can now move to planning without having to spend all my supports on mine clearing teams! In his defense, my opponent is a lawyer by trade and a tournament player (FoW) - he sometimes has difficulty transitioning to the "Play the period, not the rules"!
by mgluteus
Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:24 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Blocking entry roads with mine fields
Replies: 19
Views: 5074

Re: Blocking entry roads with mine fields

I am a member of "that august group" and searched for some answer to my query but no joy. I understand that a single minefield is only 6" wide and one could normally come on within 6" of the road. But if one peruses the map in 29, Lets Go for the Flanking St Germain du Peut, It can be seen that the ...
by mgluteus
Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:06 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Blocking entry roads with mine fields
Replies: 19
Views: 5074

Blocking entry roads with mine fields

I know this has been covered but after about 1 1/2 hours on here and the yahoo site, I could not find anything (the search engine SH**Ts). My opponent is in a position to place two minefields on the table edge across the only entry road for my two (required) tanks. the 12" combine width does not all...
by mgluteus
Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:45 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: I had a dream........
Replies: 5
Views: 1924

I had a dream........

Things are bad when you start dreaming about this game! I awoke to a very pleasant feeling that I had completely destroyed my opponent after a very frustrating campaign and then realized that it was just a dream. I had the initiative as attacker and rolled 1,4,5,6,6. I brought on my FO and a SLdr, t...
by mgluteus
Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:59 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: The Funnies
Replies: 21
Views: 5525

The Funnies

I note rules for the various "funnies" that modified tanks from about D Day on. But there is no cost for Up(?) grading one's tanks to a "funny" such as a flail tank. Nor do I see them mentioned in any of the Pint Size Campaign books. I have a perfect application (I think) in a 29 Lets Go campaign, a...
by mgluteus
Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:10 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Pint Sized Campaign Question
Replies: 4
Views: 1681

Re: Pint Sized Campaign Question

Danka, Seret.
Dick Bryant
by mgluteus
Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:19 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Pint Sized Campaign Question
Replies: 4
Views: 1681

Pint Sized Campaign Question

What happens when the commanding officer's opinion reaches 12? A new commander is assigned starting over at 0? OR He can go no higher and only lower? OR what? Does his men retain the +3 support they acheived on the way to that exalted position?
Dick Bryant