Search found 424 matches

by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:16 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Questions on US Armored Rifle Platoon
Replies: 15
Views: 2327

Re: Questions on US Armored Rifle Platoon

Yes, the M1919 just counts as a belt-fed LMG. That's probably quite generous as it makes it just as good as much better guns like the MG34 and MG42, but it's the nearest fit without concocting a special rule just for that gun. A minor adjustment without a major rules change would be to not allow it...
by batesmotel34
Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:45 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: French "shurtzen"
Replies: 3
Views: 1141

Re: French "shurtzen"

One problem that the CoC rules don't reflect well is many armoured vehicles have significantly better frontal armour compared to their flank than average versus others where there is less difference between the frontal and flank armour than average. The rules handle the case adequately for AFV with ...
by batesmotel34
Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:26 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: They Don't Make Tanks Like That Any More
Replies: 11
Views: 1941

Re: They Don't Make Tanks Like That Any More

Nope mate can just activate 2 positions so 12 shots . However therr are some that allow multiturret tanks to activate another turret with a 1. Note sure its in BK tho The rule for using 1's to activate additional positions is in the Soviet 1941 list so presumably offical at least for the T-35. I'm ...
by batesmotel34
Sat Sep 21, 2019 12:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: soviet support LIST
Replies: 5
Views: 973

Re: soviet support LIST

Since there are JLs listed with the Soviet AT guns in the Kursk and Winterstorm campaigns, I suspect the omission in the list in the rules is a typo and not intentional. I've always given the Soviet AT guns the JL when playing with them.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:33 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign query
Replies: 8
Views: 1780

Re: Campaign query

So does this apply only to wounds were you roll a 2 or 3 (ie do not lose a CI) or a combo? I have always applied it to any wound that doesn't kill you. So for instance, if a JL gets hit and KOd, regains consciousness at the Turn end, then gets hit again and loses a CI, he'll miss the next battle as...
by batesmotel34
Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:46 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Senior leader with 2 wounds in campaign
Replies: 4
Views: 866

Senior leader with 2 wounds in campaign

From ATSE: Leaders who are wounded twice in any one game will be removed from play for the next campaign turn, returning on the following turn. Dead Leaders will, fairly obviously, be removed from play entirely. Junior Leaders will always be replaced, permanently if they are killed, or temporarily i...
by batesmotel34
Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Effect of Hand Grenades on troops in hard cover.
Replies: 10
Views: 1829

Re: Effect of Hand Grenades on troops in hard cover.

OK cool so the effect of rhe grenade fired by rifle is different than the same grenade thrown? You learn something everyday. I suspect it is going to be confused At least the accounts I've read of grenades thrown through bunker firing slits, windows, etc are for thrown grenades, not rifle grenades....
by batesmotel34
Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:14 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Armoured vehicle forced off table
Replies: 29
Views: 4142

Re: Armoured vehicle forced off table

Making the vehicle immune to the reversing effect when it hits the edge seems wrong. At a minimum I think it should be removed from the table and at least be forced to redeploy onto the table, probably within 6" of where it left. That way there is some effect from the requirement to reverse.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:53 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Selecting British Airborne Section with 2 LMGs from Support list?
Replies: 24
Views: 2953

Re: Selecting British Airborne Section with 2 LMGs from Support list?

So how about for 1943 Soviets for the Kursk campaigns. Their platoons have 2 sections with 1 LMG and 2 sections with 2 LMG. Obviously the 2 LMG sections would seem the better option in general. (They're all 8 men plus JL sections.) I'd certainly go for one of each if buying 2 sections.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:16 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: T15 Armament - HMG
Replies: 7
Views: 1131

Re: T15 Armament - HMG

Note that an HMG also has an AP value of 1 while the MMG wouldn't have any AP.

Chris