Search found 424 matches

by batesmotel34
Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:48 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Can a vehicle senior leader order a deployment?
Replies: 30
Views: 3724

Re: Can a vehicle senior leader order a deployment?

As a slightly different question, if the AFV with the SL is already on table, should any off table AFVs from his platoon have to roll for deployment as if there is no SL off table? (Does it change if there is or isn't a SL off table who isn't in line of command for the AFVs, e.g. if there isn't a SL...
by batesmotel34
Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:40 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Going tactical on deployment
Replies: 8
Views: 1198

Re: Going tactical on deployment

We've been allowing deploying as tactical for our games. In terms of real life, it makes sense that a unit should be able to deploy making maximum use of cover.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:27 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Weapons that reduce cover and pinned units.
Replies: 13
Views: 4505

Re: Weapons that reduce cover and pinned units.

Always add up all the potential pluses and minus’ with the caveat that you can’t get better than hard cover (unless you are in a bunker). ..... and the blokes shooting at you aren't in it as well. :ugeek: (Top that one, TT!) That sounds like close combat to me so cover from fire wouldn't apply.... ...
by batesmotel34
Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:51 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Pinned Leaders?
Replies: 4
Views: 994

Re: Pinned Leaders?

In real life, it might make more sense to treat the leader as tactical until the player chooses to have the leader do something else that takes him off tactical. Having the leader as the last survivor of his unit doesn't seem likely to make him more vulnerable in real life since at that point he wou...
by batesmotel34
Sun Oct 27, 2019 3:46 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Off Table Machine Guns
Replies: 18
Views: 3597

Re: Off Table Machine Guns

Note that some light mortars with longer ranges, e.g. US 60mm mortars, are allowed to fire from off table in the basic rules (secton 9.4) so the fact that the pre-game barrage isn't listed as affecting them might be an oversight or an indication that other off table assets shouldn't be affected? Chris
by batesmotel34
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:00 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CoC FAQ
Replies: 87
Views: 132198

Re: CoC FAQ

Note that there is a special rule in the Soviet lists that include the T-35 (Soviet pre-was tank design with 5 turrets) allowing a crew position to be activated with a 1. This could be allowed for as a house rule for all multi-turreted tanks but not officially so defined.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:36 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Over watch and panzerfausts
Replies: 54
Views: 10469

Re: Over watch and panzerfausts

The ruled in 9.5.3 is clearly garbled. Accordion to it, a JL never orders a section AT weapon to fire. It requires a SL to order firing one at a non vehicle target. And apparently doesn't require an activation to fire at a vehicle target. I suspect the intent was that the JL orders the use at a vehi...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:35 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: POssible Late War Commisar rule
Replies: 10
Views: 1964

Re: POssible Late War Commisar rule

count the commissar as an inferior Senior Leader, but still activating on a 5 and counting as 2 men for shock effects on a unit he is with, counting as one man in melee, etc. On a 4 I think you mean Commissars activate on a 5 in the army lists for early war (1939-40, 1941, etc) so I left it as a 5 ...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:34 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: POssible Late War Commisar rule
Replies: 10
Views: 1964

POssible Late War Commisar rule

Currently the Soviet list in the rules includes the Commissar as a support option but no indication what a commisar can do. To reflect increasing Soviet infantry professionalism from 1943 (or possibly 7/1943 on) I would remove the Commisars ability to shoot a section member to remove shock and inste...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Officers
Replies: 10
Views: 1907

Re: Officers

I would roll as if the sole officer was a normal bloke - so if he is hit he is hit but then you have to roll to see the result so go straight to 9.1.1 HITS ON LEADERS & FORWARD OBSERVERS Leaders and Forward Observers may be targeted if they are more than 4” from any friendly troops. They are treate...