Search found 778 matches
- Sat Nov 02, 2019 1:27 am
- Forum: Chain of Command
- Topic: FO and the opponents phase
- Replies: 3
- Views: 2170
Re: FO and the opponents phase
I would suggest you ask Big Rich if you can borrow his toffee hammer! :D More seriously, no, definitely not. The rule on interrupts is clear, one team or section may be activated to move or fire. Calling in mortars is neither. Or, if you want to get all rules-lawyer, the interrupt activates one *on-...
- Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:54 pm
- Forum: Chain of Command
- Topic: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
- Replies: 42
- Views: 7279
Re: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
Except a rout doesn't incur a BTH roll anyway - breaking does, and *also* causes a rout. The only BTH roll for routing is for a leader leaving the table at the end of the turn if attached to a broken unit.
- Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:50 am
- Forum: Chain of Command
- Topic: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
- Replies: 42
- Views: 7279
Re: Close Combat 4 x dice to enemy player
This 'rout' has nothing to do with breaking, or routing as a consequence of that, it's just a swift retreat to avoid a hopeless fight (this was hashed over when CoC was first released). The wording is a hangover from IABSM, I think, where a similar mechanism applies but the term doesn’t have the sam...
- Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:45 pm
- Forum: Dux Britanniarum
- Topic: Are raiders really brittle?
- Replies: 4
- Views: 2222
Re: Are raiders really brittle?
Hi, I haven't played Dux Brit for at least 2 or 3 years, but from memory what makes them brittle is firstly that while they only die on a 6 in combat, they accumulate shock on a 3,4,5 and secondly their forces lack the leadership that allow the saxons and romano-british to rally shock off. They have...
- Thu Aug 08, 2019 1:04 pm
- Forum: Chain of Command
- Topic: Questions
- Replies: 19
- Views: 4104
Re: Questions
To be precise, you can only interrupt during your opponent's phase, one consequence of which is that you can't interrupt an interrupt. As to interrupting an opponent who is intending to deploy and fire, you can interrupt before or after they deploy, but you can't shoot at them since you don't have a...
- Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:51 pm
- Forum: Chain of Command
- Topic: Interruption
- Replies: 12
- Views: 2895
Re: Interruption
Personally, once the enemy unit has been deployed, I wouldn't allow an interrupt. They've effectively blundered into an ambush and that kind of mistake should be painful. Allowing an interrupt then would be too much like playing a get-out-of-jail-free card for me. Having said that, if I had a CoC di...
- Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:55 pm
- Forum: Charlie Don't Surf
- Topic: Rules question
- Replies: 3
- Views: 1934
Re: Rules question
Since both units are under the same fire, I would apply Pinned or Suppressed to both of them.
- Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:19 pm
- Forum: Charlie Don't Surf
- Topic: Rules question
- Replies: 3
- Views: 1934
Re: Rules question
Hi Paul, Welcome to the wonderful world of Lard! ;^D Yes, you are playing it wrong, but this one is a common mistake among new players. The right answer is 'none of the above' - what you actually do is divide the hits *before* you roll for effect, then each unit suffers the rolled effect of the hits...
- Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:38 pm
- Forum: Sharp Practice
- Topic: Uncontrolled Troops
- Replies: 3
- Views: 1319
Re: Uncontrolled Troops
They don't fire volleys like Line troops, so they don't go uncontrolled.
- Tue Jul 09, 2019 6:54 pm
- Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
- Topic: Questions, AFV mounted machine guns
- Replies: 3
- Views: 2587
Re: Questions, AFV mounted machine guns
Hi,
More than just reasonable, exactly right on both counts!
Cheers,
Jim
More than just reasonable, exactly right on both counts!
Cheers,
Jim