Search found 385 matches

by DCRBrown
Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:17 pm
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Question re Whipped Result in Charge Combat
Replies: 2
Views: 248

Re: Question re Whipped Result in Charge Combat

Mr P,

It's the former! ;)

DB
by DCRBrown
Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:16 pm
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Question re Allocating Casualties from Defensive fire
Replies: 2
Views: 233

Re: Question re Allocating Casualties from Defensive fire

Mr P,

You are right, to clarify, its all casualties are spread out as evenly as possible amoungst all attacking units that can be hit.

So, it doesn't include rear supports.

DB
by DCRBrown
Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:04 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Square vs. Column
Replies: 12
Views: 957

Re: Square vs. Column

CS,

Perhaps the more pertinent point you raise is the need for a DT for an unformed unit in such circumstances, and I certainly think that is a way forward.

DB
by DCRBrown
Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:16 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Square vs. Column
Replies: 12
Views: 957

Re: Square vs. Column

CS and John, Missed the bit regarding the column routed last turn. Under these circumstances it's regarded as a column of mob, as John states, until it spends a turn reforming into the desired formation. (See p83-84.) As the brigade has rallied, the unit is no longer considered retreating or routing...
by DCRBrown
Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:04 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Square vs. Column
Replies: 12
Views: 957

Re: Square vs. Column

CS, First, General d'Armee is a deliberate attempt not to replicate every other set of wargame rules that have gone before; they attempt to discourage players adopting that usual wargame tactic of charging with one cavalry regiment against one infantry unit in isolation. General d'Armee intentionall...
by DCRBrown
Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:57 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: BUAs
Replies: 6
Views: 650

Re: BUAs

de-P,

If you win a melee with a take the ground result you may occupy a BUA. If you had multiple units in the melee you may choose which one occupies.

The melee result applies to all units fighting, so if the British had three units, then all three retreat as John states.

DB
by DCRBrown
Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 am
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: On Table Reserves
Replies: 2
Views: 288

Re: On Table Reserves

Mr P, In addition to the advantages John has mentioned, the fact that Reserves do not undertake a Command roll means that they do not negatively impact upon the Initiative dice roll. Whereas on-table brigades that are not on reserve will create a -1 modifier to your Initiative roll if they are hesit...
by DCRBrown
Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:32 am
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Oak Grove Refight
Replies: 2
Views: 486

Re: Oak Grove Refight

8-) Excellent!

DB
by DCRBrown
Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:05 am
Forum: Pickett's Charge
Topic: Artillery who get a whipped result in the 'Charge' test
Replies: 3
Views: 601

Re: Artillery who get a whipped result in the 'Charge' test

M,

Technically the artillery carry out a normal whipped result if they lose a charge combat. (Though I would now consider adding Low on Ammo as well.)

Though if you wish to remove whipped artillery from play after losing a charge, I can't see a problem with that.

DB
by DCRBrown
Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:15 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Flanked? and another bit
Replies: 3
Views: 341

Re: Flanked? and another bit

PL, If Prussian A started within 5cms/3" of Prussian B at the commencement of the charge, then it can count as a support, (though I won't ask how it managed to get there! :o ) To be classed as Flanked a defender simply has to have an enemy unit to its flank/rear, it's irrelevant what direction the e...