Search found 5146 matches

by Archdukek
Wed Sep 09, 2020 1:44 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moveable Deployment Points
Replies: 1
Views: 141

Re: Moveable Deployment Points

Hi Graham, The rules on Moveable Deployment Points are set out clearly on page 82 of the rules. Basically they can be bought as a support choice if one of the units in the Force has Moveable DP as one of its characteristics as is the case with Spanish Guerrillas. They can be placed further away from...
by Archdukek
Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:25 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Stukas and German vehicles
Replies: 14
Views: 822

Re: Stukas and German vehicles

I agree with Andy (Seret). The preamble description clearly describes the Stuka Attack as a variation on the pre-game bombardment. In that case any restrictions on deployment only applies to Allied troops, I don’t think that needs specifically stating myself. As you point out it wouldn’t be logical ...
by Archdukek
Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:12 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 776

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

Yes but. Yes to not sharing with other separate units. However, there is a specific rule for sharing hits on groups in a Formation from artillery firing ball. See the last paragraph and diagram at the foot of the first column on page 46. The hits are only shared with those groups immediately adjacen...
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:59 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 776

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

.....the Leader of the main body must outrank any Leader attached to the Skirmish troops..... Just to clarify - must he completely outrank, or can he be the same rank? Strictly he should be of a higher Status Level (see page 18) which usually comes with higher rank. If you insist on using Leaders o...
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:25 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Little help here
Replies: 20
Views: 4617

Re: Little help here

Hi I am looking at playing this scenario and have found the discussion interesting. I have one question though, does the attacker have a Primary & Secondary Deployment Point as a matter of course as in the rule book it is not entirely clear? If you are talking about the Defence in Depth scenario th...
by Archdukek
Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:19 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 776

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

As the Captain says, in most cases the target group is the Skirmishers so the +1 for a Column doesn’t apply. However, keeping in mind that it is only hits on a Formation from Line, Skirmish Troops or Artillery firing canister which are allocated across other units, see Allocation of Hits on page 45,...
by Archdukek
Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:40 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Prohibited supports / melee
Replies: 2
Views: 333

Re: Prohibited supports / melee

Hi Ricky, Not sure that I fully understand your first question. However, there is nothing in the rules which says that a Brigade on Infantry Assault orders requires an ADC to be attached to undertake charges with supports. As far as I can see, paragraph a on page 43 simply means that a unit in an at...
by Archdukek
Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:25 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 776

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

Yes if you keep them under tight control.
However, sometimes it can be tempting and good tactics to spend an extra CI to activate the skirmish group separately to use their extra movement to advance ahead and perhaps fire on the enemy as the column moves up behind them. It’s a judgement call.

John.
by Archdukek
Mon Aug 31, 2020 8:12 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: Great War - TtM&tB or CoC?
Replies: 3
Views: 424

Re: Great War - TtM&tB or CoC?

Hi there, Both rules are interesting but I would suggest that the WW1 variant of CoC works best in post 1916 settings which is what it was designed for. Given the campaigns that you are interested in I would recommend taking a look. The Playing the Game supplement has lots of other interesting artic...
by Archdukek
Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:30 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Initiative and Skirmishers
Replies: 2
Views: 221

Re: Initiative and Skirmishers

Hi Lowdice, I’m not aware of any rule requiring a skirmish screen to give ground to other advancing skirmishers. They will just contest the ground until one either voluntarily withdraws because it’s losing the skirmish fight or is forced to do so by a failed DT or by advancing enemy Close Order troo...