Search found 4610 matches

by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:00 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Columns through light woods
Replies: 8
Views: 173

Re: Columns through light woods

Then your defending unit and any supporting flank units could have fired on the column at the 3" point as he was advancing towards you using defensive fire prior to resolving the Charge Procedure. Since he is charging I wouldn't give him the benefit of any cover since your troops would wait until th...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:32 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Respective differences
Replies: 11
Views: 301

Re: Respective differences

For starters the Brigade would have to be on Infantry Assault orders for the rear unit to charge with support. Assuming that's the case then yes I believe you could declare the rear unit to be the lead unit for the assault. All units would then move forward maintaining their respective positions to ...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:13 pm
Forum: Kiss Me Hardy
Topic: KMH with Black Seas Ships
Replies: 2
Views: 153

Re: KMH with Black Seas Ships

Although the KMH rules were written with 1:1200 scale ships in mind, I play them with 1:2400 models and have never felt the need to adjust movement or ranges. Both are abstractions and there is no real sea scale as such. I've yet to try with the Black Seas models and I might switch to using inches i...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:04 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Plancenoit Church
Replies: 5
Views: 152

Re: Plancenoit Church

Hi CP, Actually I think you would have struggled as a commander in the period to do that since you are cutting across the established lines of command and it would have been no easy matter to feed in new men probably unknown to the commanders controlling the fight in the BUA. It is hard enough integ...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:19 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Plancenoit Church
Replies: 5
Views: 152

Re: Plancenoit Church

No, there is no rule to allow a defending unit to be "reinforced" by supporting units be they occupying a BUA or not in the sense that you are transferring casualties to the supporting units if that's what you mean. You would have to withdraw the defending unit entirely and replace it with a friendl...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:02 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Clarification on support team sizes
Replies: 6
Views: 184

Re: Clarification on support team sizes

I have also operated under the assumption that JL commanding support options cannot command any other troops. Is this explicitly stated anywhere? That's correct, support JL only command its own teams. Chain of command... That's the case for all JLs, they can only command the men in their section or...
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:52 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Question about "Ambush"
Replies: 6
Views: 198

Re: Question about "Ambush"

No, I'd say that being Pinned means that they cannot now withdraw. They are stuck and vulnerable to further enemy attacks. Seems an appropriate penalty for trying to undertake an ambush in an area which the enemy has covered by an overwatching team.

John
by Archdukek
Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:48 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: General Campaign Questions
Replies: 12
Views: 346

Re: General Campaign Questions

I'd agree with TT about combining platoons. There is no hard and fast rule it varies in PSCs. For example, in Kampfgruppe Von Luck there is no minimum level of dead required to amalgamate two platoons but if you do so you reduce your ability to rotatine platoons. Any surplus men are still held at Co...
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:33 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: General Campaign Questions
Replies: 12
Views: 346

Re: General Campaign Questions

I would expect it to say in the campaign notes what happens to any excess men. Certainly in Operation Citadel it does. There the additional men are held as a reserve by the Company to replace future losses. However, in that case a platoon has to suffer 12 men dead as permanent losses before it can b...
by Archdukek
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Breaking under a Barrage
Replies: 2
Views: 147

Re: Breaking under a Barrage

My understanding is that they still run away in a blind panic barrage or no barrage.

John