Search found 4737 matches

by Archdukek
Sun Feb 09, 2020 2:13 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Artillery barrages and Tea time cards
Replies: 1
Views: 100

Re: Artillery barrages and Tea time cards

Does having 2 tea time cards in the deck hinder indirect fire? Since turns last longer do you need to adjust the arty? Anyone have any thoughts on this? No using 2 Tea Break cards doesn’t affect indirect fire. Turns aren’t necessarily lasting longer, it just seems that way. Using two cards simply i...
by Archdukek
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:07 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: SNLF some thoughts
Replies: 19
Views: 686

Re: SNLF some thoughts

Interesting picture. Only the soldier on the left seems to have a gas mask in his bag given the classic goggle eyed shape. The others seem to be using them for carrying other stuff, one looks like a flask! Can’t be certain though.

John
by Archdukek
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:01 am
Forum: Bag the Hun
Topic: Spotting on Bonus Cards
Replies: 3
Views: 137

Re: Spotting on Bonus Cards

I would say No you can’t move AND spot on an Altitude or Formation bonus card. The description of what you can do on those cards in 4.1 on page 9 is pretty specific, it’s move or spot. Section 6.1 is the general rule for handling spotting, but makes no mention of these bonus cards. I don’t think tha...
by Archdukek
Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:14 am
Forum: Kiss Me Hardy
Topic: Holding a Fire Card
Replies: 3
Views: 208

Re: Holding a Fire Card

rtrantin wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:18 am
Thanks for the reply. That's how we decided to play it also. I was just wondering if there is an "official" read or insight on the issue.
I don’t recall seeing an official ruling on this, but we have always played the firing in such a case as being simultaneous.

John
by Archdukek
Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:26 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Infantry in half tracks, MG use
Replies: 7
Views: 320

Re: Infantry in half tracks, MG use

Very interesting about the rear mount on the SdKfz 251/1 being for anti-aircraft fire. Didn’t know that. I suspect it could be used for firing a cheeky “Parthian Shot” against ground targets as the Hanomag retreated, though the gunner would be exposing himself more than his mate manning the forward...
by Archdukek
Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:55 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Infantry in half tracks, MG use
Replies: 7
Views: 320

Re: Infantry in half tracks, MG use

Glad to help, though it’s Robert whose done all the real work.

John
by Archdukek
Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:53 pm
Forum: General Discussion
Topic: IABSM handbooks - any use to CoC players?
Replies: 6
Views: 860

Re: IABSM handbooks - any use to CoC players?

I’d endorse Robert Avery’s “modest” statement as to the usefulness of the IABSM supplements to CoC players. The various Blitzkreig Handbooks for example provide lots of extra background material in a single volume for each participant and provide a context to the lists in the CoC Blitzkreig 1940 sup...
by Archdukek
Wed Feb 05, 2020 6:19 pm
Forum: If the Lord Spares Us
Topic: Eastern Front WW1
Replies: 2
Views: 272

Re: Eastern Front WW1

We have used “If the Lord Spares Us” on numerous occasions to fight both Russian Civil War and Soviet-Polish War actions without any problems. We also use them for fights in East Africa using the amendments in an article in the WW1 Compendium. I have also used for battalion actions on the Western Fr...
by Archdukek
Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:22 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Tactical stance
Replies: 9
Views: 880

Re: Tactical stance

Hi Erik, I think you have the older FAQ which did indeed say that. The latest November 2017 version is different. It should be stickied somewhere. You will find the answer on page 16, namely: A: The answer here, after some reflection, is to add up all the plus factors in favour of the target and the...
by Archdukek
Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:11 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Scottish Corridor Carrier option questions
Replies: 22
Views: 645

Re: Scottish Corridor Carrier option questions

Late War Universal Carriers usually had 4 men, one of whom was the driver, so option A is your answer. Generally when dismounted the driver remained with the vehicle while the other two men crewed the Bren under the direction of the JL. The option in the support list for Scottish Corridor is for the...