Search found 902 matches

by MLB
Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Sniper vs sniper
Replies: 6
Views: 1575

Sniper vs sniper

We had a situation last night where a sniper wanted to target another sniper. There doesn't seem to be a specific rule to cover this and given a sniper activation is slightly different than other units it wasn't clear if the sniper team could be put on overwatch in the usual way (or if he needed to ...
by MLB
Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:46 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Covering fire, shock and pinned
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Re: Covering fire, shock and pinned

I get your point although I'm not sure I totally agree. I see covering fire similar to something like overwatch in that it requires some thought and tactical direction. While the fire is not aimed to hit it is aimed fire that's attempting to suppress a specific area. So I imagine troops that are bri...
by MLB
Mon Dec 05, 2016 7:49 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Covering fire, shock and pinned
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Re: Covering fire, shock and pinned

That's certainly one way to handle it. Another option would be to allow it up to a certain level of shock, say shock level must be less than half of the number of men for example, and then not allow it any form after that.
by MLB
Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:58 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Covering fire, shock and pinned
Replies: 4
Views: 1016

Covering fire, shock and pinned

I can't seem to find any restriction on pinned units laying down covering fire at full effect. Nothing on any level of shock come to that. Covering fire is very effective, reducing the chance of a hit on a regular section from 50% to 33%, so much so that perhaps the best thing for a unit carrying a ...
by MLB
Sun Dec 04, 2016 5:51 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Another campaign question
Replies: 3
Views: 987

Re: Another campaign question

The key for us was that for figures within 12" it simply says "all", without any reference to pinned. At other distances it quite specifically refers to unpinned. However the confusion comes from the paragraph that says "any pinned figures will roll a D6". We assume this to refer to the pinned figur...
by MLB
Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:15 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Bunkers and fortified buildings
Replies: 11
Views: 3399

Re: Bunkers and fortified buildings

Agree, the rules would really need to revisit buildings and building types in more detail.
by MLB
Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:08 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Another campaign question
Replies: 3
Views: 987

Another campaign question

After a voluntary withdrawal ATSE says "any" unit within 12" of a friendly JOP withdraws automatically. For figures further than 12" it refers specifically to what happens to unpinned figures only. There is then a paragraph covering pinned figures. Just to be clear we got this right we read this to ...
by MLB
Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:27 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9750

Re: Campaign casualties question

OK that makes sense and keeps things simple, thanks for the quick response.
by MLB
Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:31 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9750

Re: Campaign casualties question

Thanks. Yet another question following our first scenario of the Von Luck campaign. The British had 5 men "killed" - one Bren team and two riflemen. 2 are permanently lost, 2 miss the next scenario and 1 returns to duty, but what happens to the Bren gun, do we dice to see if it returns with one of t...
by MLB
Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:59 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9750

Re: Campaign casualties question

On the same point, do you include men lost as POWs? And what happens to men who rout off the table in the course of normal play?