Search found 875 matches

by MLB
Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:27 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Re: Campaign casualties question

OK that makes sense and keeps things simple, thanks for the quick response.
by MLB
Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:31 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Re: Campaign casualties question

Thanks. Yet another question following our first scenario of the Von Luck campaign. The British had 5 men "killed" - one Bren team and two riflemen. 2 are permanently lost, 2 miss the next scenario and 1 returns to duty, but what happens to the Bren gun, do we dice to see if it returns with one of t...
by MLB
Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:59 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Re: Campaign casualties question

On the same point, do you include men lost as POWs? And what happens to men who rout off the table in the course of normal play?
by MLB
Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:56 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Re: Campaign casualties question

Just to continue on this point, can I try to clarify exactly what casualties we are counting when tracking the men's opinion and calculating victory etc. Is it the case that in all these calculations we are only counting those men who will never be returning? That is, we do this calculation once we ...
by MLB
Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:56 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Re: Campaign casualties question

I didn't want to pose my question too cynically but this was indeed the thought foremost in my mind, these support troops are in danger of being the 'expendables'. I like these suggestions and will certainly include them in the casualty count, that makes good sense.
by MLB
Mon Nov 28, 2016 10:40 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign casualties question
Replies: 32
Views: 9346

Campaign casualties question

I've looked through At the Sharp End and can't seem to find an answer to how casualties to supports are handled. If I bring in an additional section as a support, do their casualties get included when calculating replacements and those of the scenario winner that are immediately returned to action?
by MLB
Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:59 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Bunkers and fortified buildings
Replies: 11
Views: 3249

Re: Bunkers and fortified buildings

Thanks Seret, I like those suggestions as I was developing thoughts along similar lines. Also agree a FIBUA supplement would be great, my regular opponent was only complaining last week that we only ever seem to be fighting in rural terrain, yet CoC 's scale lends itself well to city fights (and wou...
by MLB
Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:54 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Allocating support points in campaign scenarios
Replies: 3
Views: 990

Allocating support points in campaign scenarios

While the rule book provides a system for allocating support points in each scenario I notice that system is rarely if ever used in the scenarios in the pint sized campaigns. I can understand why you would want to adjust these points in the interest of scenario balance or historical factors, but I'm...
by MLB
Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:49 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Bunkers and fortified buildings
Replies: 11
Views: 3249

Bunkers and fortified buildings

I'd be interested in how people play these as I'm putting together a small campaign around the battle for Tarnopol in 1944. So my thoughts are the defending player may have bunkers, or choose to fortify a number of buildings with a fortified building considered the same as a bunker. Any thoughts on:...
by MLB
Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:48 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Ambushing team weapons
Replies: 4
Views: 995

Re: Ambushing team weapons

I would interpret this as allowing the ambushing unit the equivalent of one activation, as the rule talks about activation of a team, not a leader per se. In the case of the tank hunter team, each element of the team carries out its one action and given the rule says they "fire" this one action shou...