Search found 996 matches

by MLB
Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:25 am
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: Japanese platoon for CoC
Replies: 17
Views: 1946

Japanese platoon for CoC

I've been putting together a Japanese force with Chain of Command in mind. I've already played the excellent Malaya 1942 campaign and now with a Far East Handbook in the offing I've been wanting to make sure I have all the elements I need to cover the actions of most of the theatre. I've condensed a...
by MLB
Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Across the Dyle and CoC dice
Replies: 3
Views: 513

Re: Across the Dyle and CoC dice

I would say no he can’t, as that would appear to be double use of the CoC die. I can see the logic to your question but as that would be an exception to the way CoC dice are normally used I would expect to see a specific reference to it in the campaign notes and there isn’t one.
by MLB
Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:38 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Stukas and German vehicles
Replies: 14
Views: 1593

Re: Stukas and German vehicles

I’ve always understood it to work like a pregame barrage and only impact the opposing side. We have played it this way and seen this effect as the result of Stuka attacks further back down the line (ie behind the enemy lines) and therefore unlikely to effect friendly deployment. I’d be very surprise...
by MLB
Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:33 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 1573

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

As the Captain says, in most cases the target group is the Skirmishers so the +1 for a Column doesn’t apply. However, keeping in mind that it is only hits on a Formation from Line, Skirmish Troops or Artillery firing canister which are allocated across other units, see Allocation of Hits on page 45...
by MLB
Thu Sep 03, 2020 5:46 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 1573

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

Yes if you keep them under tight control. However, sometimes it can be tempting and good tactics to spend an extra CI to activate the skirmish group separately to use their extra movement to advance ahead and perhaps fire on the enemy as the column moves up behind them. It’s a judgement call. John....
by MLB
Mon Aug 31, 2020 9:54 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?
Replies: 12
Views: 1573

Re: Moving skirmisher screen plus parent body on a single activation?

Glad to help. One of the things you still have to watch out for is keeping the skirmishers within 4” of the supports so that hits against the skirmishers can be shared across the formation as per p46. It’s sometimes tempting to let them move too far ahead. John So if I’ve understood correctly both ...
by MLB
Mon Aug 31, 2020 9:41 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Shock and movement
Replies: 1
Views: 341

Shock and movement

Question about shock and movement. Does the penalty apply to each movement action, or only once to all movement actions? For example I have a group with two points of shock. I decide I want to move with one action to a wall. I roll one die and roll 4. After subtracting shock the 2” move is not enoug...
by MLB
Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Maschinengewehr with Panzergrenadier Help Needed
Replies: 10
Views: 1608

Re: Maschinengewehr with Panzergrenadier Help Needed

Truscott Trotter wrote:
Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:51 am
Yup without a nearby SL the rule is suboptimal ..😉
I tend to find I use it when for whatever reason I have a surplus of command dice and a spare 1 to use. Generally a 3 is better used to have both teams fire (8+6) rather than just the LMG with leader assistance (8+2).
by MLB
Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:40 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Maschinengewehr with Panzergrenadier Help Needed
Replies: 10
Views: 1608

Re: Maschinengewehr with Panzergrenadier Help Needed

Your hunch is correct. The junior leader uses both his CI which means the other LMG team needs a 1 to activate (or a senior leader nearby to do the same).
by MLB
Sun Aug 16, 2020 10:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Advancing in Open Order
Replies: 12
Views: 1717

Re: Advancing in Open Order

One thought. Players often bunch up their figures because there is no incentive not to. Historically a bunched up unit was frowned upon because it increased the chance of casualties, yet in CoC that same risk does not apply. If the chance of receiving more hits was increased by bunching figures then...