Search found 902 matches

by MLB
Wed May 06, 2020 10:57 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Personally I've always played that an attached Leader can act with a Team on a 1, act with an attached Squad on a 2 and use his CIs on a 3 or 4 as appropriate and honestly can't see myself changing that, revised FAQ or no (unless playing with someone who feels strongly that that way is 'wrong'). It...
by MLB
Mon May 04, 2020 10:26 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

However, at some point we moved to playing is where the Leader could do all of the above, with the exception of firing. The rationale for that was the very issue that we have here. the "If he can do it on a 2, why can't he do it on a 1". One of the big rules that I try to stick by is that exception...
by MLB
Mon May 04, 2020 10:02 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Rich, thanks for the answer. The issue for us players is that we only have one reference point when we are playing and that’s the rule book. When an issue comes up in a game the first thing we normally do is see what the rule book says. It’s the obvious thing to do. As you’ve pointed out the rule bo...
by MLB
Sat May 02, 2020 10:50 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Casualties on gun crews
Replies: 11
Views: 994

Re: Casualties on gun crews

I’ve often thought about the number of crew assigned to a weapon more as a value to represent their durability in combat, they represent a ‘defence value’ of how much punishment they can take before becoming ineffective. So I don’t see the actual number of figures around the gun as fully representat...
by MLB
Sat May 02, 2020 6:17 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

The firing on a roll of 1 was because Rich said this is an earlier post: I f a Leader is with a section/team activated on a 2/1 he CANNOT fire as he is not activated. He can only fire with the unit when he activates it on his Command Dice roll of 3 as then, and only then, is he activated. He later r...
by MLB
Fri May 01, 2020 10:50 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

In some ways these recent posts circle back to one question in my original post. In effect can a leader fire twice in the same phase? Now the immediate thought is, no, he can’t, but reading the rules there is much to suggest that actually, yes, he can. Let me explain my thinking. As a new player I r...
by MLB
Fri May 01, 2020 7:20 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

He can, that's the whole point of the game that you can use combinations of dice to enhance your performance. So if you have a 2 and a 3, you can use the 2 to move and fire the section, you can also use the 3 before or after that to do stuff that is not an activation. All you cannot do is activate ...
by MLB
Fri May 01, 2020 5:53 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

That’s not the only rules reference, see pg21 4.5.8: When attached to a Unit, a Leader will move and fire with that unit at no additional cost in Command Initiative until he chooses to detach himself. While I take this to read that if on an activation of 3 the leader uses a CI to have the unit move ...
by MLB
Fri May 01, 2020 2:47 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

I’ve posted four specific questions on this for Rich and Nick on Facebook and alerted them via Twitter (which they both seem to frequent the most). Hopefully get an answer and put this one to bed and I can write the piece for the blog without causing controversy! Just hope Rich doesn’t fire from the...
by MLB
Fri May 01, 2020 12:05 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 4146

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

The important bit to understand is that there are some things that are activations and some things that aren't. Shooting and moving are activations, using a CI to remove a point of shock isn't. So if your leader has moved or shot along with the unit when it moves or shoots, then he's had his activa...