Search found 881 matches

by MLB
Tue May 26, 2020 11:25 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?
Replies: 42
Views: 1103

Re: How many of my squad can fire, or how many figs per cm of front?

I think there’s a danger of overthinking it. I play in 20mm with figures on 20mm round bases, so even with bases touching that’s a minimum 6’ or call it approx 2m between each figure. So even when they appear bunched up, they are not really that close. I also consider it somewhat abstracted. In most...
by MLB
Mon May 25, 2020 10:39 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaigns
Replies: 19
Views: 646

Re: Campaigns

Hello, the various campaigns are inexpensive, but buying specific tanks and things for them can add up. Can anyone suggest a balanced one for playing cover to cover. So far I finished 29 lets go and gembloux gap and ejoyed both. But was a bit taken aback by lack of balance in von luck campaign, and...
by MLB
Mon May 25, 2020 10:29 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Von luck and Lorraine schlepper
Replies: 20
Views: 824

Re: Von luck and Lorraine schlepper

They don’t like mortar barrages either.
by MLB
Tue May 19, 2020 11:44 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: China Sino-Japanese war, 1930’s
Replies: 18
Views: 756

Re: China Sino-Japanese war, 1930’s

This is an excellent selection of essays by historians from US and China, with much recent scholarship. It goes from big picture discussion right down to morale of particular divisions.
https://www.bookdepository.com/Battle-f ... 685&sr=1-1
by MLB
Sun May 10, 2020 10:24 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Are Panzerschrecks too powerful?
Replies: 33
Views: 1705

Re: Are Panzerschrecks too powerful?

They rarely survive for more than one or two phases after deploying. That tends to mean an instant trade off. Panzerschreck team takes out tank (roll for loss of support), Panzerschreck team wiped out (roll for loss of support). One kill and two shock is enough to put an end to them even if you can’...
by MLB
Sun May 10, 2020 10:13 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Ambush with tank destroyers
Replies: 19
Views: 1146

Re: Ambush with tank destroyers

Not clear what you mean. Yes, it deploys like a normal AFV (from a road entry point or within 6”), or it deploys from a jump-off-point like an infantry unit? I looked up the campaign notes but a quick scan through didn’t reveal anything about how it deploys. Is that answered somewhere else, or did ...
by MLB
Sun May 10, 2020 12:23 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Ambush with tank destroyers
Replies: 19
Views: 1146

Re: Ambush with tank destroyers

Isn’t there a dug-in AFV support in the Operation Martlet PSC. I’ve never played it but does it deploy like a normal AFV? Yes, it deploys from a JOP. Not clear what you mean. Yes, it deploys like a normal AFV (from a road entry point or within 6”), or it deploys from a jump-off-point like an infant...
by MLB
Sat May 09, 2020 3:46 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Ambush with tank destroyers
Replies: 19
Views: 1146

Re: Ambush with tank destroyers

Isn’t there a dug-in AFV support in the Operation Martlet PSC. I’ve never played it but does it deploy like a normal AFV? It would seem something similar could apply for the TD (assuming a special rule exists for deployment of the dug in AFV).
by MLB
Thu May 07, 2020 2:55 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 3249

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Rich has said in this discussion the idea a leader could participate with a unit on a 2 and then later activate on a 3 is a key concept of CoC. The creative use of command dice and leaders to get the maximum happening on the table being at the heart of CoC’s command and control mechanics. This conce...
by MLB
Wed May 06, 2020 10:57 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader activating 'twice'?
Replies: 59
Views: 3249

Re: Leader activating 'twice'?

Personally I've always played that an attached Leader can act with a Team on a 1, act with an attached Squad on a 2 and use his CIs on a 3 or 4 as appropriate and honestly can't see myself changing that, revised FAQ or no (unless playing with someone who feels strongly that that way is 'wrong'). It...