Search found 399 matches

by batesmotel34
Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:00 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CoC FAQ
Replies: 87
Views: 89605

Re: CoC FAQ

Note that there is a special rule in the Soviet lists that include the T-35 (Soviet pre-was tank design with 5 turrets) allowing a crew position to be activated with a 1. This could be allowed for as a house rule for all multi-turreted tanks but not officially so defined.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:36 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Over watch and panzerfausts
Replies: 54
Views: 3359

Re: Over watch and panzerfausts

The ruled in 9.5.3 is clearly garbled. Accordion to it, a JL never orders a section AT weapon to fire. It requires a SL to order firing one at a non vehicle target. And apparently doesn't require an activation to fire at a vehicle target. I suspect the intent was that the JL orders the use at a vehi...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 4:35 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: POssible Late War Commisar rule
Replies: 10
Views: 777

Re: POssible Late War Commisar rule

count the commissar as an inferior Senior Leader, but still activating on a 5 and counting as 2 men for shock effects on a unit he is with, counting as one man in melee, etc. On a 4 I think you mean Commissars activate on a 5 in the army lists for early war (1939-40, 1941, etc) so I left it as a 5 ...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:34 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: POssible Late War Commisar rule
Replies: 10
Views: 777

POssible Late War Commisar rule

Currently the Soviet list in the rules includes the Commissar as a support option but no indication what a commisar can do. To reflect increasing Soviet infantry professionalism from 1943 (or possibly 7/1943 on) I would remove the Commisars ability to shoot a section member to remove shock and inste...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:23 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Officers
Replies: 10
Views: 691

Re: Officers

I would roll as if the sole officer was a normal bloke - so if he is hit he is hit but then you have to roll to see the result so go straight to 9.1.1 HITS ON LEADERS & FORWARD OBSERVERS Leaders and Forward Observers may be targeted if they are more than 4” from any friendly troops. They are treate...
by batesmotel34
Thu Oct 03, 2019 3:16 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Questions on US Armored Rifle Platoon
Replies: 15
Views: 612

Re: Questions on US Armored Rifle Platoon

Yes, the M1919 just counts as a belt-fed LMG. That's probably quite generous as it makes it just as good as much better guns like the MG34 and MG42, but it's the nearest fit without concocting a special rule just for that gun. A minor adjustment without a major rules change would be to not allow it...
by batesmotel34
Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:45 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: French "shurtzen"
Replies: 5
Views: 432

Re: French "shurtzen"

One problem that the CoC rules don't reflect well is many armoured vehicles have significantly better frontal armour compared to their flank than average versus others where there is less difference between the frontal and flank armour than average. The rules handle the case adequately for AFV with ...
by batesmotel34
Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:26 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: They Don't Make Tanks Like That Any More
Replies: 11
Views: 668

Re: They Don't Make Tanks Like That Any More

Nope mate can just activate 2 positions so 12 shots . However therr are some that allow multiturret tanks to activate another turret with a 1. Note sure its in BK tho The rule for using 1's to activate additional positions is in the Soviet 1941 list so presumably offical at least for the T-35. I'm ...
by batesmotel34
Sat Sep 21, 2019 12:32 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: soviet support LIST
Replies: 5
Views: 303

Re: soviet support LIST

Since there are JLs listed with the Soviet AT guns in the Kursk and Winterstorm campaigns, I suspect the omission in the list in the rules is a typo and not intentional. I've always given the Soviet AT guns the JL when playing with them.

Chris
by batesmotel34
Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:33 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Campaign query
Replies: 10
Views: 548

Re: Campaign query

So does this apply only to wounds were you roll a 2 or 3 (ie do not lose a CI) or a combo? I have always applied it to any wound that doesn't kill you. So for instance, if a JL gets hit and KOd, regains consciousness at the Turn end, then gets hit again and loses a CI, he'll miss the next battle as...