Search found 708 matches

by JimLeCat
Sun May 26, 2019 9:36 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: More Rivers To Cross PSC
Replies: 28
Views: 997

Re: More Rivers To Cross PSC

I would run it the same way as Chris, giving the defender all the normal options, with the exception that they get no wounded back (until the next game). You ask why an attacker would choose to use this under those terms? Well, firstly, the chance to take two Maps in one Turn is huge. Secondly, if t...
by JimLeCat
Sat May 18, 2019 6:03 pm
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Leaders and excess shock in a formation
Replies: 4
Views: 160

Re: Leaders and excess shock in a formation

He is attached to the centre group, not the formation as a whole, and shock is assessed against the individual groups, so no, you don't count him (see the top of page. 34).
by JimLeCat
Sat May 18, 2019 5:20 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Opportunity charge.
Replies: 31
Views: 1077

Re: Opportunity charge.

Actually, I think p.51 just proves John correct. Point 4 at the end of the Procedure section states 'After the resolution of the Opportunity Charge, the “interruption” ceases and Phasing Player carries on with his remaining Charges .' The last part I have put in bold means that we are into the secon...
by JimLeCat
Sat May 18, 2019 11:42 am
Forum: Dux Britanniarum
Topic: In-Commanded groups
Replies: 1
Views: 120

Re: In-Commanded groups

No-one 'gives' them their activation, they are doing their own thing because no-one has given them any orders. Apart from not being able to start or join close combat, they can do anything they could normally do. This includes carrying on with anything they have been ordered to in a previous round, ...
by JimLeCat
Sun May 12, 2019 10:45 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Old Hickory rules question
Replies: 2
Views: 371

Re: Old Hickory rules question

Yes, it looks like you can do that, but I don't see why you would. Firstly, allocating all your forces to one zone at first just gives you a larger force than you can manage with just 5CD. Secondly, you only get two uses of Airpower, so while makes some sense to use them at the start when you have 5...
by JimLeCat
Fri May 10, 2019 11:45 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Starting out
Replies: 11
Views: 1234

Re: Starting out

The very last sentence of section 4.3.1, which states units may always fire on deploying. As Rich has previously confirmed, this means that when deploying on a 3 all the unit will fire without the JL spending any CI, so he can spend his CI on, for instance, national characteristics. He referred to i...
by JimLeCat
Mon May 06, 2019 8:59 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Tea breaks, Turn cards and reinforcements....
Replies: 4
Views: 322

Re: Tea breaks, Turn cards and reinforcements....

Hi, You are not mistaken, that is exactly what John was referring to. There is, however, no fixed formula, the number of times the Turn card is drawn before an event such as reinforcements arriving depends entirely on the scenario. The usual approach would be to use a Turn card for uncertain events ...
by JimLeCat
Sat May 04, 2019 10:02 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Did Bren carriers ever carry two Bren guns?
Replies: 12
Views: 732

Re: Did Bren carriers ever carry two Bren guns?

Yes, except that carrier has *one* bren and a boyes rifle...
by JimLeCat
Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:18 pm
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: CoC 1/56 France 1940 Pz 38(t)...
Replies: 12
Views: 948

Re: CoC 1/56 France 1940 Pz 38(t)...

I have done flags for 18th century troops that way. Mind you, I have a small laser printer, so the ink is permanent. Is yours ink jet?
by JimLeCat
Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:28 pm
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: CoC 1/56 France 1940 Pz 38(t)...
Replies: 12
Views: 948

Re: CoC 1/56 France 1940 Pz 38(t)...

First thought that comes to mind is to print out the flag, cut it out and liberally daub the back with pva. Wait until the paper has soaked up enough to be floppy, then drape it over the engine deck, arrange how you want it and leave it to dry. I'd do a trial run or two first on some spare bits to s...