Search found 680 matches

by JimLeCat
Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:59 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS
Replies: 41
Views: 359

Re: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS

Couldn’t disagree more :D It appears completely consistent and unambiguous. A team is a unit. A section is a unit. Therefore the rule would apply to both teams AND sections, whichever is relevant. If you are activating the UNIT as a team, treat it as a team. If you are activating the UNIT as a sect...
by JimLeCat
Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:51 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS
Replies: 41
Views: 359

Re: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS

I have always played it if I have 2 teams say one with 2 shock and the other with 4 shock and I move section as a whole say 8". Team 1 moves 6" and team 2 moves 4". I may have this wrong of course Yup, that is exactly what the 14.3 says to do. It also makes clear that you have the option of declari...
by JimLeCat
Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:53 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS
Replies: 41
Views: 359

Re: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS

Exactly what Archdukek said - I just meant that you never aggregate shock in multi-team sections for movement, hence my final question about Len's suggestion since as written it would mean the same applied to single team squads, increasing their mobility. Sorry if I wasn't clear, I was in a bit of a...
by JimLeCat
Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:57 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS
Replies: 41
Views: 359

Re: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS

If the 2 team section is moving or firing as an entire section on a command die of 2 or a 3 it applies the shock exactly the same as a single section would, not by individual team. If moving/firing by team then apply the shock effect by team. That is how I have always played it. Interesting discuss...
by JimLeCat
Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:11 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS
Replies: 41
Views: 359

Re: CONCERNS WITH SINGLE-TEAM SQUADS

An interesting idea, although it perhaps contradicts 4.5.7 as written. Admittedly, it isn't a rule I've seen used often, but it is used occasionally for good in game reasons (in the same way that multi-team squads don't generally split up unless there are good reasons). Maybe amend it to say they mu...
by JimLeCat
Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:34 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Leader breaking with unit
Replies: 10
Views: 1093

Re: Leader breaking with unit

I read 4.5.8 as meaning a SL is attached to any unit he is within 4" of - given that it says he detaches by moving more than 4" away. RAW then imply that if either unit breaks, he goes with them. Having said that, I would give the owning player the choice as to whether he goes with the breaking unit...
by JimLeCat
Tue Jan 22, 2019 12:55 am
Forum: Sharp Practice
Topic: Fisticuffs
Replies: 12
Views: 1046

Re: Fisticuffs

From the FAQ, first item under Fisticuffs, 'As long as one man in a group makes contact, the whole group will fight.'

If you want to house-rule it in your games to account for numbers of figures in range, etc. feel free, but Rich's intention is clear, and very simple.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,
Jim
by JimLeCat
Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:27 pm
Forum: Off Topic!
Topic: looking for anyone wanting to sell 1:300 RAF decals
Replies: 2
Views: 736

Re: looking for anyone wanting to sell 1:300 RAF decals

Hi, If it's 1:300 you're after, then I-94 do a set, and minibits carry them in the UK. There's also a company called Flight Deck Decals that do them, although apparently not a mixed single sheet. https://www.flightdeckdecals2400.com/1-300-raf-roundels Also, Tumbling Dice sometimes have Dom's Decals ...
by JimLeCat
Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:28 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Eleven Questions that arise in the last games:
Replies: 5
Views: 877

Re: Eleven Questions that arise in the last games:

Hi, My answers:- 1. As per 4.5.8, being within 4" is the definition of being attached, so yes he can be. And yes, he is at risk of being hit if any of them take casualties. 2. The format for any crewed weapon is <name if weapon>< total number of crew>, regardless of the size or type of weapon. The e...
by JimLeCat
Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:22 am
Forum: Miniatures, Models & Scenery
Topic: Normandy Roads?
Replies: 16
Views: 1193

Re: Normandy Roads?

The French term for cobbled roads is pave. There used to be a lot of them, especially in the north of the country, but most of them were replaced (or just tarmaced over) post war. For some detailed discussion of surviving sections in English, you want to look at cycling news/forums, since the Tour d...