Search found 57 matches

by dakkadakka
Wed Jun 17, 2020 3:49 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Quatre Bras - Kempt’s brigade skirmishers
Replies: 1
Views: 170

Quatre Bras - Kempt’s brigade skirmishers

I am setting out the troops for my refight of Quatre Bras for the upcoming Waterloo anniversary; and, have a question. The rules say that an extra skirmish stand is added to the brigade skirmish line for each company of 60th/95th rifles added to it. Since Kempt’s brigade contains a battalion of the ...
by dakkadakka
Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:26 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Defending Support Unit
Replies: 2
Views: 441

Re: Defending Support Unit

Since everything is happening simultaneously I think you played it correctly. With all the noise and confusion in a battle, field commanders didn’t have the level of communication with their subordinates to be able to change lines of march at a moment's notice. If you want to throw in the possibilit...
by dakkadakka
Wed Jun 03, 2020 1:50 am
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Share your favourite house rules
Replies: 22
Views: 1355

Re: Share your favourite house rules

For our double phases, instead of dropping a die we swap it for one of another color; and, disregard any 6’s rolled on that die. Repeat for any additional double phases subsequently rolled. Reset the dice after your last phase.
by dakkadakka
Sun May 31, 2020 2:32 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Close Combat Question
Replies: 3
Views: 270

Re: Close Combat Question

That’s kind of the way I felt as well - thanks guys!!!
by dakkadakka
Sun May 31, 2020 4:47 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Close Combat Question
Replies: 3
Views: 270

Close Combat Question

We were playing a game today and ran into a question about close combat. A British squad moved into a house, which then put them within 4” of two German squads located outside the opposite side of the house. One was in the open while the second was off to the side behind a small hedge. During the cl...
by dakkadakka
Sun May 31, 2020 4:22 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: IABSM version 2 or 3?
Replies: 10
Views: 3996

Re: IABSM version 2 or 3?

Hey guys: I have played CoC for a couple of years now; but, have only been involved with IABSM for a month or two. So, I thought I’d put my two cents worth in, from the perspective of a relative newcomer. I am not familiar with the previous versions of IABSM. From the games I’ve played I have found ...
by dakkadakka
Fri May 22, 2020 9:13 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Partial reveal of a blind
Replies: 2
Views: 250

Re: Partial reveal of a blind

Ok - so I should have popped the rest of the platoon on the tea break.

By ambush I wasn’t referring to the rule in the game; but it sounds like I played it incorrectly nonetheless. Thanks for the clarification.

Regards,

Jim
by dakkadakka
Fri May 22, 2020 9:10 pm
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Some musings on light mortars and smoke
Replies: 2
Views: 257

Re: Some musings on light mortars and smoke

Hey John: From what I’ve read about light mortars, they were Indeed pretty accurate. I guess my main cause of concern is the auto-hit of the first round. As a long-time gamer I’ve never been a fan of the automatic hit; and, only slightly more in favor of the auto-miss (notwithstanding range, LOS, et...
by dakkadakka
Thu May 21, 2020 3:48 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Some musings on light mortars and smoke
Replies: 2
Views: 257

Some musings on light mortars and smoke

I downloaded the BFL supplement which had the smoke rules, and I want to be sure I played this correctly. My British 2” mortar team is trying to lay a smoke screen in front of a house containing a German tripod MG. I drop a marker in front of the house (no roll needed to hit). Then, I rolled a scatt...
by dakkadakka
Thu May 21, 2020 1:35 am
Forum: I Ain’t Been Shot Mum
Topic: Partial reveal of a blind
Replies: 2
Views: 250

Partial reveal of a blind

So, I have a situation where a British platoon is approaching two structures, each of which contain a German squad. There is also a BM in one of the houses. Another squad in a different house has activated on a previous turn, which required me putting that platoon’s card in the deck. Now, in a subse...