Search found 117 matches

by bellebsc
Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:19 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column
Replies: 9
Views: 826

Re: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column

Appreciate you getting back to us. I'm simply not seeing the trees for the woods as I've read page 26 and 27 so many time before. Also the cavalry after melee is the way I've played exactly as you stated but again sometimes you can look at a rule section and over analyze it. Once again thank you Mr ...
by bellebsc
Wed Oct 30, 2019 3:52 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: 6mm Basing
Replies: 24
Views: 3390

Re: 6mm Basing

My Adler are based on 2 bases of 40 X 20 and 2 bases if 20 X 20 and are 3 ranks deep . 56. figures to a battalion. Large battalions are 2 bases 50 X 20 and two based of 25 X 25. Again 54 figures, I just represent bigger battalions with bigger bases . Cav sqd is 6 figures on 50 X 20 . It looks mass, ...
by bellebsc
Tue Oct 29, 2019 6:46 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column
Replies: 9
Views: 826

Re: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column

Perhaps Mr Brown can give some insight in why the cavalry has its own section as the above section 2b covers all units.
by bellebsc
Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:09 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column
Replies: 9
Views: 826

Re: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column

Thanks both. Again it was just curious why Mr Brown singled out the cavalry only in that paragraph as it also effects infantry hence the question. As he does mention in page 83 section 2 B in the movement phase unformed UNITS are restricted to reforming or a retire move, again the word UNITS covers ...
by bellebsc
Sat Oct 26, 2019 4:38 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column
Replies: 9
Views: 826

Melee reforming/ firing after charges/ mass column

Hi John. Yet again some more questions. I seem to over read the rules even though I've had them long enough. Yet I sometimes miss silly things so please bear with me. Q1 Page 83 section 2 .C Cavalry unformed after winning a melee may not move again until the next turns movement phase . I played it a...
by bellebsc
Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:17 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Wheeling away from being charged.
Replies: 5
Views: 389

Re: Wheeling away from being charged.

That was my post also lol. This was mostly about is it still legal to wheel even if you can't fire which both if you agree but John is right that depending on the arc I may still get some muskets off .
by bellebsc
Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:38 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Wheeling away from being charged.
Replies: 5
Views: 389

Re: Wheeling away from being charged.

Your right mate that the unit may still be on your flank but then again it may not and that's why we both agree that due to the firing from the centre then a unit should at least allow the unit to try a defensive maneuver to save his flank.
by bellebsc
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:24 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Wheeling away from being charged.
Replies: 5
Views: 389

Wheeling away from being charged.

Hi John. A French line is being charged in the flank. The chargers started over 15cm away. Now is wheeling only allowed if the unit can WHEEL and FIRE at the same time? As a line would not be able to hit the unit as we now measure from the centre of the firing unit. My argument is that they should s...
by bellebsc
Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:00 am
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Interpenetration fire or not to fire.
Replies: 7
Views: 1435

Interpenetration fire or not to fire.

A unit wins a victory and the defeated routed unit interpenetrates a unit directly behind it unforming it. The chargers role their dice and charge on towards the unformed unit, may the unformed unit fire on the chargers? I can't find anything to say they can't. Now just to clarify if the unit that w...
by bellebsc
Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:57 pm
Forum: General d'Armee
Topic: Firing from the centre
Replies: 8
Views: 650

Re: Firing from the centre

Thanks John

I was thinking it was only for steady infantry hence the confusion. I hope I don't overwhelm you with questions mate but your help is appreciated

Ricky